Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-28-2010, 08:41 PM   #31
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,875
Share |
Default

Help Needed with Open Ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by mark2741 View Post
Thanks oleguy. That makes sense, but I just assumed that since the hot and neutral would be in the same cable/sheathing as the ground, it would work just as well. I was tracing it back to the junction before the GFCI, which is up in the attic I believe, underneath insulation.
You're doing fine. But you have a bad situation for tracing the cable. I would seriously consider just leaving the open ground unless you can find another way to get a new cable (H-N-G) to the gfci from a good equipment ground source.

Do you have any particular piece of equipment your going to plug into that gfci that needs a ground reference? If not then let the gfci be the protection for that outlet and don't lose any sleep over not having a ground. The gfci does not need the ground to function properly.

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 08:45 PM   #32
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,875
Default

Help Needed with Open Ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
Good grounds are called upon to carry current.
You can expect the voltage on ground to rise up to 3 vac or so when passing 10 A through it. Measuring voltage is half the story.

You can check this ground impedance with a hair dryer or toaster or
buy Ideal's 65-165 tester. Just reading the instruction manual for this thing is an education unto itself.

I don't have a financial interest in Ideal's products.
How is all that helping Mark find the location of his open ground ???
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Stubbie For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (08-28-2010)
Old 08-28-2010, 08:52 PM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 147
Default

Help Needed with Open Ground


Thanks Stubbie,

I was going to give up on it but then, once I realized I might be able to find the ground wire in the junction/connection in the attic that I assume got disconnected somehow, I tried to give it a go. But it doesn't look like I'm gonna find it so yeah, I'm probably gonna give up now : (

That gfci is in a hall bathroom, above the vanity sink. About the only thing that would ever get plugged into that would be a hair dryer or curling iron (by the wife or daughter, not me : ).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
You're doing fine. But you have a bad situation for tracing the cable. I would seriously consider just leaving the open ground unless you can find another way to get a new cable (H-N-G) to the gfci from a good equipment ground source.

Do you have any particular piece of equipment your going to plug into that gfci that needs a ground reference? If not then let the gfci be the protection for that outlet and don't lose any sleep over not having a ground. The gfci does not need the ground to function properly.
mark2741 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 09:30 PM   #34
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,400
Default

Help Needed with Open Ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
Good grounds are called upon to carry current.
You can expect the voltage on ground to rise up to 3 vac or so when passing 10 A through it. Measuring voltage is half the story.
Are you saying the grounding conductor would only carry 3 volts if a 120 volt wire shorted to the case?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 11:38 AM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Help Needed with Open Ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
How is all that helping Mark find the location of his open ground ???
You ask a reasonable question.

With an open ground or similar type problem forum members will be lining up to suggest valid methods to trace this problem.
I doubt they will be lining up to suggest a testing method once the ground is re-established.
Therefore, my post on testing, and many other of my posts on confirming/testing/troubleshooting/calculating expected values, etc.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 03:10 PM   #36
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,400
Default

Help Needed with Open Ground


I think they meant your post did little to actually help the OP with their problem and was off topic.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Easiest way to ground inline surge protectors? wmblalock Electrical 2 03-06-2010 10:07 AM
sub panel ground and neutral daddyrabbit Electrical 3 01-29-2010 06:49 AM
Electrical Ground Problem cabinetman Electrical 15 01-28-2010 04:55 PM
Wire Needed for GF / Arc Fault breaker jamiedolan Electrical 13 09-20-2009 08:15 AM
To ground or not to ground, that is the question cartalker Electrical 8 10-18-2008 10:12 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.