Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-31-2013, 09:23 AM   #46
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Share |
Default

Help needed: How do I ground my satellite dish?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
3.9 APPLICABLE CODES.
The Lightning Protection Code, NFPA No. 78, issued by the National Fire Protection Association (3-9) contains the basic requirements for the minimization of personnel hazards in the event of a lightning strike to the structure.

The requirements of NFPA No. 78, however, are not sufficient to protect the electrical distribution system, signal and control cables, or sensitive electronic equipment from surges produced by either direct or indirect strokes. Thus additional steps such as providing lightning arresters on power lines and on outside signal and control cables, providing counterpoise cables for overhead and underground cables, providing comprehensive electromagnetic shielding on sensitive cables, and installing fast response surge protection devices on circuits exposed to lightning discharges should be taken. MIL-STD-188-124A refers.
the technical information is still good but it hasn't been called nfpa 78 for over 20 years. it is now called nfpa 780.

itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 09:24 AM   #47
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,975
Default

Help needed: How do I ground my satellite dish?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Sanders View Post
In the long run (here anyway) it doesn't really matter where the ground is connected just so long as it is connected to a legitimate ground.
Actually it does matter. You ground the incoming communications, antenna, satellite, networking, where it enters the structure, not just at whim wherever you wish inside the structure.

That means if the building uses structural steel that is tied into a Ufer grounding system, you can tie to that point. As for that attachment you posted, it is used for attaching to ground rods, but mostly to Copper piping.

As for opening panels, already stated, that no one should be opening a panel, to run a grounding line from a communication system to the System mains ground.

Yes, you could have a single panel that uses bus bars for the ground tie system if you wish. Or you could use the attachment block that is out there that attaches to the Electrical Mains or Building grounding system, to connect all incoming communications, video systems grounds to those blocks.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 09:53 AM   #48
TWX
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 37
Default

Help needed: How do I ground my satellite dish?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
TWX, lightening protection is a whole different subject. Yes, it does not get tied into building mains ground at the panel, but between the two grounding systems with a bonding jumper. Because as you stated, it is protecting the structure, not a group of circuits.

That means that the lightening protection would have their own ground rod system, not tied into the building mains grounding system.
That's my main reason for bringing it up in this instance. If the point of grounding the satellite dish is to protect the building and its contents from lightning if the dish is struck, then shouldn't its ground tie to earth as part of the lightning protection system, rather than as part of the electrical distribution system?
TWX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 11:12 AM   #49
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,975
Default

Help needed: How do I ground my satellite dish?


Quote:
Originally Posted by TWX View Post
That's my main reason for bringing it up in this instance. If the point of grounding the satellite dish is to protect the building and its contents from lightning if the dish is struck, then shouldn't its ground tie to earth as part of the lightning protection system, rather than as part of the electrical distribution system?
Again, has nothing to do with protecting the building or equipment inside. Suggest you pull a copy of Iee std 1100 (The Emerald book), read up on whys and hows for the reqsons we bond all incomming communication systems into a structure, even if that stucture is just used to sheild circuits from the weather.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 03:37 PM   #50
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,440
Default

Help needed: How do I ground my satellite dish?


This post is going way off topic aside from the point the OP is in CANADA so NEC does not apply.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub Panel over 10g-2 Help Needed hamblinh Electrical 30 01-18-2013 07:46 PM
Need to know if my grounds and neutrals are connected right dorlow Electrical 185 01-15-2012 02:54 PM
Adding ground in old home ChaosTheory Electrical 6 06-16-2010 04:02 PM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
water meter ground wire jumper not needed? windowguy Electrical 13 07-21-2009 05:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.