Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-24-2009, 02:20 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help needed on electrical question


I live in a large house which was once one dwelling and is now five
flats and has been for at least 40 years.

The problem is all the power to the house comes through my property.
My upstairs neighbours electric supply to their flat does not work at
present.

EDP say the problem is from the cut-out to their property therefore the
fault is not EDP, fair enough.

They came down to put a cable in but decided that the cut-off (which
was hanging off the wall and was clearly dangerous) would need to be
replaced before anything could be done, which is also fair enough I
don’t want a dead electrician under the stairs.

They came and put in a new cut-out and came this morning ostensibly to
put in the new cable to my neighbours property to give them a supply.

This morning I opened the door to two workers and two supervisors who
all dived under the stairs and did a simultaneous sharp intake of
breath.

I asked them if there was a problem but one of the supervisors had to
call his supervisor for advice (how low down the feeding chain are the
electricians).

They then said something like because I had inherited the supply and
nothing had been done with it over the years it needed upgrading
something to do with phase 3 the alterative was to reduce the fuse to 30
from 60 and that might help for the minute but it would need upgrading.

I always thought the electric board were responsible for the supply
into the house and we were responsible for the supply after that. Is
that wrong because I think this is going to cost thousands to upgrade.

Does anyone know what is their responsibility and what is ours?

They have now connected my neighbours supply but to do so they have had to put four flats on 30 amp leaving me with 60 amp.

The EDF said all modern homes are now on 100 amp.

How bad is our problem and how quickly does it need sorting out what is the capcity of a 30 amp on an average flat will it be blowing the fuse regularly.

We are going to get a new supply done but I am really confused I always thought it was EDF’s job to maintain and upgrade up to the property.

Sorry for the long post if anyone has any ideas I would be grateful

Partisan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 02:35 PM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Help needed on electrical question


power company is responsible up to the meter here. main panel at the pole and inside panels were my job.
most homes are 100 or 200 amp service commonly i always thought. 30 amp? pop-pop-pop-pop
you don't say your location either, where are you from?

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 02:49 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help needed on electrical question


Oh sorry didn't realise this was an American forum. I am British I obviously have a very bad sense of direction I will now go in search of a British forum Polly
Partisan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 02:57 PM   #4
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Help needed on electrical question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Partisan View Post
Oh sorry didn't realise this was an American forum. I am British I obviously have a very bad sense of direction I will now go in search of a British forum Polly
I think there maybe some people here that can help,give them a bit to respond.
Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 03:07 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help needed on electrical question


Thanks Jamie I will pop back and check every now and again.

Just want to add a bit

EDF want to take a new upgraded supply cable from the pavement through a trench in the garden (which they have said we can dig ) into the house charging us for it. I thought it was their supply their problem?
Partisan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 03:11 PM   #6
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Help needed on electrical question


hold on now.... we have members from all over here. britain included. stick around, you'll get your answer soon.
there are some pretty smart guys around here to help you!

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 03:16 PM   #7
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Help needed on electrical question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Partisan View Post
EDF want to take a new upgraded supply cable from the pavement through a trench in the garden (which they have said we can dig ) into the house charging us for it. I thought it was their supply their problem?
even here, they would charge for that, yup. their only responsibility is the main power in. if i wanted to have them run power to another building here, they'd charge me for sure to do it. although, if you do the digging up to standards, they will probably charge you less? however, something few people know, if you have an annoying tree you need down near power lines, they will come drop the lines and allow you to remove it safely, then put them back up.
and i was told it was free.
THAT part doesn't sound like the power co., but who knows?....anyone?

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 04:05 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Help needed on electrical question


I have a large dead oak tree 6-8' from the street main power lines
The electric company will not take it down
3 calls so far for them to trim the tree back as required & still waiting
3 different crews/people have been out, I was told main branch hanging within 6' of the main line would be cut off
Crew came out & trimmed the tree - left the big branch

Tree companies will not touch the tree until that branch is cut off
I've informed the power company the tree has been dead for 2 years & it will take all the lines down when it falls
Still waiting
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 04:45 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,965
Rewards Points: 2,026
Default

Help needed on electrical question


Who owns the house, or is it a condominium or coop'?

Who pays the electric bill?

In most condominiums, a pipe or wire or electrical panel physically in one unit but which serves other units is a common responsibility.

It is possible that one panel serving all five units has only enough branch circuits to give each unit (flat) two or three circuits.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2009, 02:00 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Help needed on electrical question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Partisan View Post
Does anyone know what is their responsibility and what is ours?
To avoid the run-around get the answers of the Authority Having Jurisdiction in writing (their writing).

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical Panel "cut-in" question Todd-sta Electrical 52 12-03-2008 11:07 PM
stupid electrical question. 737Pilot Electrical 10 11-09-2008 03:52 PM
Electrical Question - adding a 3 way switch to existing Light Marcus23 Electrical 5 10-11-2008 08:52 AM
New service Question Onytay Electrical 1 10-24-2007 05:47 AM
One furnace question and one thermostat question lh0628 HVAC 4 10-11-2007 10:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.