Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-02-2013, 10:29 PM   #16
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,574
Rewards Points: 76
Share |
Default

Help with my generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by tibberous View Post
It's a generator. I'm trying to use it as a generator.

Are you saying it's wrong because it's not already single phase?
Yes that is basically what we are telling you.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 11:31 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,510
Rewards Points: 36
Default

Help with my generator


It,s hard to see much that helps in that picture.
The red dymo is covering some writting.
And the picture is not straight so we cant
see it too well.

Does the genny have a spec plate and a brand & model ?

Dont take any chances thats a big genny
and it will kill and or burn down houses real quick
if not done properlly.
remember you can weld steel with only 100 amps
so imagine what 200 + amps would do !

picture of spec plate please ?
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 06:06 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,907
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Help with my generator


I've given up responding to any of this person's threads. In every one, he/she refuses to listen to good advice given by the pros, and insists there has to be a way to do whatever zany thing it is he wants to do.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 07:25 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 368
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Help with my generator


Okay guys, I think I got this figured out. Way easier than I was making it, but you have to have a special 3-phase box (TBH, you probably don't and could do it with 2 regular breaker boxes, but they make 3 phase boxes and you can get them on eBay for like $600)

http://shop.neobits.com/square_d_qo3...1034412004.php

And you need to balance the phases or it's hard on the generator, which is why you shouldn't connect a regular breaker box on the outer leads, because you won't be drawing an equal amount of power.

Still not sure the proper gauge of wire so I'm just gonna buy the biggest stuff at home depot and not worry about it.

Still not sure if you are supposed to ground it, probably will to be safe.

Model is a General Motors I 400. 60kw 3 phase and you can adjust the voltage, I'll probably use a multimeter at the box to make sure the voltage is right, because it fluctuates for the first couple minutes it's running.
tibberous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 07:33 AM   #20
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Help with my generator


At the risk of feeding the troll:

Where's your transfer switch or interlock?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 07:44 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 368
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Help with my generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
At the risk of feeding the troll:

Where's your transfer switch or interlock?
No transfer switch - this is completely separate from the main power.

I'm thinking I should just be able to run from the main breaker on the generator to this box, then be able to treat it like a normal panel box.

http://www.superbreakers.net/qo342mq200rb.html

Breakers for it are expensive as **** (the 20amp ones, 15amp aren't bad) Still, If I can get it hooked up for $1,000, I'll be happy.
tibberous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 09:29 AM   #22
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,574
Rewards Points: 76
Default

Help with my generator


As a complete stand alone system that is a completely different story.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 09:39 AM   #23
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Help with my generator


If you want a good reason not to give advice to this poster, read this...

Good generator?

If you don't want to waste your time, here are the Cliff Notes....

Quote:
Originally Posted by tibberous View Post
It seems like NG generators are a little more expensive (both to buy and operate) and don't have the amps to support their watts.

Not really anyone to hear it anyway, and I'm sticking it in a building.

Still not sure what wire to buy. If I want 200amps @ 120vac, do I size the wire for 200amps or 100amps? Isn't it like +120 and -120, so the amps will be split between two wires?

Is the difference between speaker wire, THWN, ect. just the shielding? They have this stuff for cheap but it's aluminum - just don't want it to melt: http://www.ebay.com/itm/250-1-XHHW-A...item2314fddae5
From reading other posts, I get the distinct impression this is an illegal pot farm and he is trying to keep his energy consumption under the radar.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 01:40 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,907
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Help with my generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
From reading other posts, I get the distinct impression this is an illegal pot farm and he is trying to keep his energy consumption under the radar.
Well, that would certainly explain a lot. Perhaps he's been sampling his product?
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 02:38 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Lansing,MI
Posts: 171
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Help with my generator


Maybe he is a very generous homeower who would like to supply power to the whole block during a power outage.
HVACTECH96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 02:50 PM   #26
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Help with my generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by HVACTECH96 View Post
Maybe he is a very generous homeower who would like to supply power to the whole block during a power outage.
Not with the price of gas!
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 04:12 PM   #27
Field Service
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 147
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Help with my generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
From reading other posts, I get the distinct impression this is an illegal pot farm and he is trying to keep his energy consumption under the radar.
That's gonna be some expensive product using a generator for electrical needs!
diystephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 05:10 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,510
Rewards Points: 36
Default

Help with my generator


What is it with you guys and pot ?
If you suspect anything is even a little sus,
you automatically brand them as pot growers ?
It's presumptious and dangerous legally !
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 05:18 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,510
Rewards Points: 36
Default

Help with my generator


Use of the three phase genny would be possable
if you had a stand alone 3 phase distro board,
But how would you tie this in with your house ?
you would need either a lot of extention cables,
or a complex re organisation of your main panel
which would have to done by an electricain.
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 08:58 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,907
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Help with my generator


As I implied in my earlier post, this person is a clueless whackjob who wants to do whatever he wants despite expert advice to the contrary. If he's not a troll, he's sure close.

md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Generator & Interlock Kit Float the Neutral? Arnold Ziffel Electrical 12 01-13-2013 05:28 PM
A discussion on the Proper grounding for portable generators Stubbie Electrical 41 07-05-2012 10:15 PM
Generator connection Question - Final Plan Apollo67 Electrical 24 01-30-2012 07:44 PM
B&S Generator with Connecticut Electric Xfer Switch Rick5150 Electrical 19 01-20-2011 10:14 PM
wiring a detached shed for AC power *and* generator backhaul wrooster Electrical 19 05-28-2010 11:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.