Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-02-2013, 08:25 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 368
Share |
Default

Help with my generator


I have a generator that has a 150 amp breaker. It can be set for 120, 220, ect. but I want to run it at 220.

The breaker has 3 wires coming off of it (it's a 3 phase generator) I just want to use it with a normal 200 amp breaker box:

http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/...1#.UTIF_4YWl1M

I think I'm just supposed to connect the outer 2 spots on the breaker to the panel box with some kind of braided aluminum wire (anyone know the proper wire for 200 amp? - <20ft run)

Then, I still need a ground and a neutral right? The ground I think I can make by sticking some ground rods into the ground, but where do I connect the neutral? Is the neutral just another wire that connects on the generator and then you have 4 wires total?

tibberous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 08:32 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 368
Default

Help with my generator


With a 3 phase generator, are any of the three spots running at 120vac at a given time (provided the machine is set at the correct voltage?)

Could you technically run a second panel box off the 3rd wire? (and only be able to use every-other breaker at 120v?)

tibberous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 08:40 AM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Help with my generator


You have absolutely no clue how to do this...call an electrician or use the correct equipment.

The phases would need to be balanced.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 08:49 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Help with my generator


Only using two phases of the generator is not a good idea and can cause damage to the generator .
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 08:56 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 368
Default

Help with my generator


I watched a youtube video and I think I kind-of understand what is going on now (or at least why the generator is three phase)

So, can I just hook it up to 2 panel boxes and make sure to balance the load between them?

I still need a neutral though right? What do I connect my neutral rail to?
tibberous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 08:59 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,789
Default

Help with my generator


Let me guess, you got a "deal" on this generator.
Some times a deal is not a deal.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 09:01 AM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Help with my generator


Trying to make chicken salad out of chicken never turns out like you intended it to.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 09:09 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 368
Default

Help with my generator


Basically, I got three main wires that connect to the breaker, which I'm guessing are my hots. Then, there are three more strained wires, which I'm guessing is either a ground and a two neutral's or three grounds (or three neutrals). It's hard to tell from the pic, but there is actually a box behind that box, and it looks like that is where the ground / neutrals are coming from.

Do I just run everything to the same neutral / ground?

Last edited by tibberous; 03-03-2013 at 01:38 PM.
tibberous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 09:16 AM   #9
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Help with my generator


Well, that picture makes it real easy then. All you have to do is........
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
jbfan (03-02-2013)
Old 03-02-2013, 09:25 AM   #10
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,374
Default

Help with my generator


Guessing does not work with electricity. Get someone who knows three phase power to give you a consultation.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (03-02-2013)
Old 03-02-2013, 09:27 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 368
Default

Help with my generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Well, that picture makes it real easy then. All you have to do is........
I know it's hard to see the wires from the picture. What I am asking is basically:

1) Should the neutrals / grounds from both panel boxes connect to the same neutral / ground? (I think the answer is yes, since on a normal panel box, you have 2 hots coming in but a shared neutral)

2) What type / gauge of wire should I use? This is actually what I'm most worried about, I don't want to overload anything.

Come on guys, this is a DIY forum, not a flame-people-for-trying-to-learn forum.
tibberous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 09:32 AM   #12
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Help with my generator


But you are not trying to learn. You are trying to hack the wrong equipment together to make it work. This is not DIY. Someone here has a tagline saying, "Just because it works, doesn't make it right". That is the correct statement for what you want to do.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 09:42 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 368
Default

Help with my generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
You are trying to hack the wrong equipment together to make it work
It's a generator. I'm trying to use it as a generator.

Are you saying it's wrong because it's not already single phase?
tibberous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 12:34 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,862
Default

Help with my generator


Set the generator to 120 volts.

Normally the hot wires are red, blue, and black. The neutral is white. The ground wire is green or bare.

What is the voltage? Measure between every combination of wires including the ground wire taken two wires at a time.

Hint: The number 208 will be found for at least one pairing.

Do not hook up the generator to any wiring or devices or lights or appliances until you gather all this information.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 03-03-2013 at 07:52 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
Kpack (03-02-2013)
Old 03-02-2013, 08:26 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 102
Default

Help with my generator


I think you better find someone who knows generators , home hookup , and three phase or your going to get hurt burn the gen up or the house.

Kpack is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Generator & Interlock Kit Float the Neutral? Arnold Ziffel Electrical 12 01-13-2013 05:28 PM
A discussion on the Proper grounding for portable generators Stubbie Electrical 41 07-05-2012 10:15 PM
Generator connection Question - Final Plan Apollo67 Electrical 24 01-30-2012 07:44 PM
B&S Generator with Connecticut Electric Xfer Switch Rick5150 Electrical 19 01-20-2011 10:14 PM
wiring a detached shed for AC power *and* generator backhaul wrooster Electrical 19 05-28-2010 11:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.