Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-17-2008, 01:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

help my fuse box


so whenever i run my dryer the fuses burn out within the hour. if i try lower powered ones it burns out faster. can someone help me troubleshoot this. i've even turned off the furnance to dry a load of laundry but it still burnt out on me. I've also tried replaceing both of the laundry room fuses i thought maybe they needed to both be new

Sgt. Pepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 01:23 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

help my fuse box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgt. Pepper View Post
burn out within the hour.
Loose connection at the fuse panel causing localized heating which shifts the fuse trip curve downward by a slight amount?

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 01:39 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

help my fuse box


sorry man, you have to dumb it down for me to understand. i know nothing, what is it i should do? Also I'm not sure if they are actually burning out, they are not black or anything like some other disgarded fuses. They just choose not to work anymore or something. Sorry man, can you help me understand what to do? I'd appreciate any help
Sgt. Pepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 01:40 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

help my fuse box


What size fuses are you using?
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 01:45 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

help my fuse box


Fuses trip because the fuse element melts.
If the fuse environment is very hot the thing will melt prematurely.

Probably 15 minutes into the drying this fuse will feel much hotter than the others, even if the others are carrying the same level of current.

Cut the power if you can, and tighten down the connections near the fuse that is blowing because if there are loose connections they will heat up
and fool the fuse into thinking there is an overload.

If you can't cut the power to the fuse, watch out for shock and "arc flash".
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 01:50 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

help my fuse box


for the size, it's an round fuse not sure what size
Sgt. Pepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 01:52 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

help my fuse box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgt. Pepper View Post
for the size, it's an round fuse not sure what size
Are you sure you're replacing it with the correct size?
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 01:54 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

help my fuse box


all the fuses are the same, same boxes. I'm pretty sure its the same size
Sgt. Pepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 01:56 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

help my fuse box


we just got three new appliances a washer, dryer and fridge. would that have anything to do with it at all?
Sgt. Pepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 01:57 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,205
Rewards Points: 506
Default

help my fuse box


What color are the fuses?
At least in the U.S. fuses are color coded.
Blue for 15A, Red for 20A, and green for 30A.

What was the situation with the dryer before the fuses started blowing?
Did someone rewire anything between the fuse box and the dryer?
Did you have a flood?

Perhaps a photo of the fuse panel would help.
__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 01:58 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

help my fuse box


anything with a possibility of a shock, terrifies me. and I don't know what an arc flash is but the name makes my heart race and my palms sweat so I don't think I'm going to try that one myself
Sgt. Pepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 02:00 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

help my fuse box


oh you meant amps? I'm sorry guys I'm so dumb. the laundry room is running on 30's
Sgt. Pepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 02:00 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,205
Rewards Points: 506
Default

help my fuse box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgt. Pepper View Post
we just got three new appliances a washer, dryer and fridge. would that have anything to do with it at all?
Yea, if you're trying to connect them to the same wiring that the old were connected, you might be overloading the circuit.
You're not trying to run a dryer on a circuit with anything else, are you?
The dryer (assuming it is an electric appliance, not a gas one with an electric motor), requires its own branch circuit, and it is usually 220V, 30A, requiring two 30A fuses or circuit breakers.
__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 02:03 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

help my fuse box


the situation with the dryer is, our dryer was ld and stopped working we bought a new one, when e originally hooked it up it didn't work and we switched both fuses and it worked, the next day we did laundry up untill the evening then the heat stopped working. so we replaced both fuses with new ones and it starts working for a while, then shuts off. and in order to keep the tumbler and heater working is to replace both fuses with new ones, but thats a lot of money for a load of laundry
Sgt. Pepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 02:05 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

help my fuse box


i think the dryer is on its own circut branch or whatever it has its own metal box that is attached with a metal tube to a bigger metal box on top of it

Sgt. Pepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuse Boxes For Showers Petrena Electrical 3 09-13-2008 02:36 AM
100 Amp Fuse - issue - HELP! Leenders Electrical 9 06-02-2008 05:06 PM
Problems with new fuse box for a dryer. needsomehelp Electrical 12 04-11-2008 12:20 AM
Goodman GMT-070-4 Furnace blows 3A Fuse Bruce Mundy HVAC 4 01-02-2008 11:31 PM
fuse went BANG davej Electrical 1 01-23-2006 01:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.