Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-29-2008, 08:20 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Help move baseboard heater thermostat and avoid electrocution

I'm hoping to move an electric baseboard thermostat about 18'' to the left and above (same wall). The reason: I will be wall mounting a flat panel TV and speakers and the thermostat is in the way. I have no electrical experience. I have a variety of pictures that may help.

Picture #1 The arrow indicates were I would like the thermostat moved to. It will be above a light switch

Picture #2 I have removed the thermostat cover. There are two sets of wires. Each contain a white, black, and ground wire.

Picture #3 Same view but I have removed the top bracket. It shows the same two sets of wires contained in a metal wire tube.

I live in Winnipeg Canada. The building is 4 years old and has metal studs. I'm assuming I will have to remove some drywall to complete this project.

Any thoughts? Obviously I want this to remain at code. Thanks

Last edited by Gunserotti; 01-04-2009 at 10:15 AM. Reason: removed a picture
Gunserotti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 08:48 AM   #2

First turn off the power to the heater by turning off its circuit breaker (likely two) down at your main electrical panel. If you need help doing this, chances are you shold not be doing the project yourself.

At the new location install a metal casing (a junction box) similar to the one you opened up. They make metal strips to hold the box in place in the middle of drywall if you really don't like the position the box would be in if fastened to a stud.