Help With This Microhood Issue - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-2007, 09:01 AM   #16
Seasoned Noob
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Help with this microhood issue


I finally got around to looking into this issue more in depth. Kitchenaid confrims that this microhood works on a 15amp circuit - even with the vent and microwave running. So its not an overloaded circuit.

I did discover that this is on the same circuit I had issues with when I first moved into the house - our smaller microwave would not work on this same circuit. We had to move it to another.

So now that the new microwave is tripping the same circuit, it points not to the microwave but to the circuit itself. It cannot be overloaded as last night it was blowing EVERY time the microwave got about a min into the cycle with all other devices on the circuit turned off.

If I assume its not the microwave and not an overloaded circuit, and not the new plug I installed (b.c this circuit blew before the new plug was installed) where do I begin? Is the quickest first troubleshooting step to replace the circuit breaker b/.c perhaps its too weak?

Advertisement

hubbard53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 06:27 PM   #17
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Help with this microhood issue


Hub, Replacing the breaker is the last thing I do. That's funny, cause we just had a girl with a bad breaker. What I am saying is it is usually not the breaker. That's funny, to because after resetting that breaker so many times...I'd replace it anyway.

First, I'd try and find the fault. Trace everything on this circuit (be patient and don't get in no rush) and with the power off, start taking stuff apart and find the loose connection. I bet it is in their somewhere. Check your own work (the recp. you installed) I check mine everyday. Patience is important. Post back with findings.

Andy
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 09:35 AM   #18
Seasoned Noob
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Help with this microhood issue


ok, so from what i can tell, there are four things on this circuit: The microwave, ONE GFI recepticle, one 3 bulb light fixture, and one three bulb track light controlled by a three way circuit.

I recently replaced all light switches, the GFI recepticle, the microwave, and the three bulb fixture. The only thing i didnt touch was the track light (i want to replace it but havnt found a suitable replacement yet)

SO when you say check the connections, just make sure everythign is 'tight'?
hubbard53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 12:35 PM   #19
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,235
Rewards Points: 2,440
Default

Help with this microhood issue


Hubbard

A new breaker is only a few dollars if the load center is a common one. If you have replaced a breaker before stick in a new one. I assume the gfci is where you operated the portable microwave from when it tripped the breaker in the past? Do you know which box that power comes to first after it leaves the breaker? Would that happen to be the gfci box?
Opening up all your ceiling light boxes isn't necessary. Your problem is elsewhere.

Last edited by Stubbie; 12-05-2007 at 12:38 PM.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 12:48 PM   #20
Member
 
47_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Springville, NY
Posts: 1,517
Rewards Points: 622
Default

Help with this microhood issue


I am not a big fan of throwing parts at a problem, but in this case I would replace an inexpensive breaker. What's the worse that can happen? You'll still have to troubleshoot, but have an extra breaker.
47_47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 01:37 PM   #21
Seasoned Noob
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Help with this microhood issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Hubbard

A new breaker is only a few dollars if the load center is a common one. If you have replaced a breaker before stick in a new one. I assume the gfci is where you operated the portable microwave from when it tripped the breaker in the past? Do you know which box that power comes to first after it leaves the breaker? Would that happen to be the gfci box?
Opening up all your ceiling light boxes isn't necessary. Your problem is elsewhere.
yes, the original portable microwave was plugged into the GFCI when it blew the breaker years ago. . .

Honestly, i have no clue yet as to where the power goes first on this circuit. I am going to assume it goes to the GFCI first since that is theoretically protecting the circuit. This is a new GFCI also - only a few weeks old and not the original GFCI that the microwave was plugged into
hubbard53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 02:44 PM   #22
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,235
Rewards Points: 2,440
Default

Help with this microhood issue


Quote:
yes, the original portable microwave was plugged into the GFCI when it blew the breaker years ago. . .

Honestly, i have no clue yet as to where the power goes first on this circuit. I am going to assume it goes to the GFCI first since that is theoretically protecting the circuit. This is a new GFCI also - only a few weeks old and not the original GFCI that the microwave was plugged into
Thats where I'm going provided it had a load side connection .... if power enters that gfci first and the breaker trips when something like a microwave is plugged into it then the problem exists from there back to the breaker. If the new breaker doesn't fix this you may have an issue with the homerun to that gfci box.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 03:20 PM   #23
Seasoned Noob
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Help with this microhood issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Thats where I'm going provided it had a load side connection .... if power enters that gfci first and the breaker trips when something like a microwave is plugged into it then the problem exists from there back to the breaker. If the new breaker doesn't fix this you may have an issue with the homerun to that gfci box.
so it wouldnt do me any good to get a clamp on ammeter to test the load going into the breaker?
hubbard53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 04:02 PM   #24
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Help with this microhood issue


Assuming 100W bulbs in the lights, I count 15A total for the circuit. That is also assuming there is no load at the GFCI. Hub, I think it would be informative if you were to take an Amp reading as you add loads to the circuit. First with nothing, then one light, two lights, etc...

15A on a 15A circuit, while not ideal, should not trip the breaker under normal conditions. If you were microwaving turkeys full time as a profession, it would not be good.

Andy
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 04:12 PM   #25
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,235
Rewards Points: 2,440
Default

Help with this microhood issue


If you plug your toaster into that gfci or something that is equivalent to a 1200 watt load or more and the breaker trips then anything after that receptacle isn't the problem. There will be no current upstream just to that gfci and back to the panel. A clamp on amp meter will verify the actual load being drawn. My point is if the breaker is new (15 amp) and you plug something into the gfci (that is listed for a 15 amp branch circuit) and it is first in the circuit and that breaker trips then the fault is in the wire from the breaker to the gfci. This is the logic
Attached Images
 
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 04:18 PM   #26
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,235
Rewards Points: 2,440
Default

Help with this microhood issue


Andy

the breaker is tripping without anything but the microwave operating. And is his previous post a portable microwave plugged into the gfci was tripping the circuit with no other loads operating. The cable that is the common link is the homerun cable.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 04:25 PM   #27
Seasoned Noob
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Help with this microhood issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Andy

the breaker is tripping without anything but the microwave operating. And is his previous post a portable microwave plugged into the gfci was tripping the circuit with no other loads operating. The cable that is the common link is the homerun cable.
ok so the problem can only really be in the outlet or the junction box, right?
hubbard53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 05:01 PM   #28
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,235
Rewards Points: 2,440
Default

Help with this microhood issue


Or somewhere along the homerun cable or the breaker assuming the gfci is first. Do you know how to determine if gfci is first? Remember this problem existed before the micro hood combo or the new gfci. So it is nothing you did.

Last edited by Stubbie; 12-05-2007 at 05:07 PM.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2007, 08:17 AM   #29
Seasoned Noob
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Help with this microhood issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Or somewhere along the homerun cable or the breaker assuming the gfci is first. Do you know how to determine if gfci is first? Remember this problem existed before the micro hood combo or the new gfci. So it is nothing you did.
yeah, i was relieved when I realized what circuit it was on b/c it relieved me of the responsibility of being the cause

I do not know how to determine how the gfci is first so any help is appreciated

thanks

Advertisement

hubbard53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 way smart dimmer issue indignatz Electrical 16 02-10-2008 02:27 AM
Heating Issue! not mechanically inclined HVAC 3 11-09-2007 10:40 AM
HVAC humidifier issue rfjm58 HVAC 4 04-12-2007 07:46 PM
Comfortmaker Furnace GUH Series Issue Ghengis Jon HVAC 8 03-01-2007 03:02 PM
Air Conditioner Condensation Issue Unregistered HVAC 1 07-23-2004 03:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts