Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-23-2013, 10:53 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

help me wire my basement switches


ok so heres the deal, no dry wall yet but looking to do that next week so i need to get the electrial done but it makes wiring very easy.

right now i have three rooms, a theatre, gym and a collectible room. right now all of the outlets are on different circuits for each room so that is not a problem. however all of the lights are on the same circuit. i have wired the recessed lights in the theatre and gym and want to keep them on the existing circuit. its only a total of 8 65 watt lights.

i want to put the collectibles room on its own circuit, i will actually use two circuits for this room since it may be up to 16 lights. one circuit for the left side of the room and another for the right side of the room. i plan on running two home runs from the panel box to the light switch and then run power from the switch to the first light and than daisy chain whichever lights i want to work off of that switch.

so my question is how do i end the power that is currently running to the first switch. do i just disconnect the switch and wire nut each wire seperately to end that circuit?

second is what gauge wire do i run from the panel box to the light switch to get in on the new circuit. i only have 14/2 and was hoping to use that, not 14/3.

once i have power to the light switch how do i power another light switch off that switch.

i want to use a 4 gang box each of which will be 600V dimmers. i know i will have to degrade them which would be down to 400. i want four lights on each dimmer at 65watts so im fine with power. again, i plan on running two home runs to get power directly to two of the switches. the other two switches would than get power from those first two switches.

hopefully this makes sense and you can help me out.

classicaaron27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 12:28 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 2,852
Default

help me wire my basement switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by classicaaron27 View Post
second is what gauge wire do i run from the panel box to the light switch to get in on the new circuit. i only have 14/2 and was hoping to use that, not 14/3.
I'm assuming this is a typo since those are both 14 gauge. The wire gauge is based on the breaker amperage. For a 15 amp, use 14g. For a 20 amp, use 12g. It's always safe to use 12g if the circuit might change to 20 in the future.

If you really want to use your existing 14g wire, you will have to make it a 15 amp circuit.

jeffnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 12:30 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3
Default

help me wire my basement switches


yes, i have a 15 amp breaker so i know to use 14 wire. just wasnt sure if i needed 14/3 if i need the hot or i could use 14/2
classicaaron27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 12:36 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 2,852
Default

help me wire my basement switches


The black wire in 14/2 is a hot wire. You don't need anything other than this for running the circuit from your panel to the room. Of course if you have any 3-way switches in the room itself, you will need 14/3 to connect those switches.
jeffnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 12:39 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3
Default

help me wire my basement switches


cool, that answers that, thank you.. any idea how to then power another switch off of that switch, im thinking just pig tail black on one switch with black on the other switch and wire nut the neutral?

also do i just wire nut the existing hot wires to terminate the circuit they are currently connected to?
classicaaron27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 01:08 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

help me wire my basement switches


here is a diagram I did for someone else that may be helpful to you. In it power enters the switches on the right via the 12-2 cable. Power is pigtailed to each switch. The left switch controls the left device and the right switch controls the right device


grounds not shown for ease of drawing
Attached Thumbnails
help me wire my basement switches-2-switch-2-fans-fan-fan.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 01:30 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 2,852
Default

help me wire my basement switches


You don't normally call it powering a switch "off that switch". Outlets are usually designed to daisy-chain power, but light switches aren't. I couldn't really follow your wording, but basically into any box (including your light switch box) you'll have a cable with black and white coming in. In your case you want 2 cables coming out - 1 cable with 2 black wires going from the switch to the light (they don't make cable with 2 black wires, so wrap black tape around the white wire inside the box), and 1 cable with a white and black wire going to the next fixture.

There should be 1 wirenutted pigtail with
1) the hot black wire coming in
2) the black wire going to the light switch
3) the hot black wire going out to the next fixture

There should be another wirenutted pigtail with
1) the neutral white wire coming in
2) the neutral white wire coming from the light
3) the neutral white wire going out

Orphaned wires may be wirenutted off and left in the box, preferably labeled so someone in the future knows why it's there.

jeffnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Exposed 10/3 wire in basement - add conduit? fdmillion Electrical 9 07-02-2013 03:20 PM
Please help wire my fan and light switches abc789987 Electrical 0 06-02-2013 12:56 PM
wire multiple 3-way switches in same box TimC527 Electrical 12 03-19-2013 04:38 PM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 03:30 PM
Basement Renovation Project Howdy Electrical 6 03-13-2008 11:07 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.