Help Me Be Safe Using My Generator. - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-31-2012, 10:05 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help me be safe using my generator.


Here is a picture of my new (to me) house's electrical system.
It isnt too pretty, but everything works good.
The house had electric heat, so I have a ton of empty double breakers.
Basically the power comes in the large panel on the left, then to the sub panel, then feeds to another sub panel in the barn.

There is a generator receptacle attached to the 100 amp subpanel in the barn to back feed to the house.
I have never had to use my generator yet, but I want to do it safe if I have to.

Would putting in a 100 amp disconnect switch between the main panel and sub panel be a safe way to prevent backfeeding out of the house?

I can't use a lockout sub panel as I need power in my garage.
Unless someone has a better idea?
Educate me please.
Could I use one of the Reliance Controls Utility / Generator Transfer Switches?
Attached Thumbnails
Help me be safe using my generator.-dsc04398.jpg  

Advertisement


Last edited by snowman800; 10-31-2012 at 10:13 PM.
snowman800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 10:26 PM   #2
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Help me be safe using my generator.


Move generator breaker to main panel and install one of these.

http://www.interlockkit.com/

Advertisement

Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 10:28 PM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Help me be safe using my generator.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
Move generator breaker to main panel and install one of these.

http://www.interlockkit.com/
I saw something a while back stating that Wyle Labs lost its listing credentials, thus voiding their listings.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 10:35 PM   #4
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Help me be safe using my generator.


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I saw something a while back stating that Wyle Labs lost its listing credentials, thus voiding their listings.
Seems to be true. Interesting.

http://www.osha.gov/pls/oshaweb/owad...TER&p_id=22157
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 11:01 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help me be safe using my generator.


I can't move the generator breaker, it's in the second sub panel in the barn. Unless I trenched another 100 feet for another run of wire.
snowman800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 11:08 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Help me be safe using my generator.


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I saw something a while back stating that Wyle Labs lost its listing credentials, thus voiding their listings.
There are many other interlock kits available on the market that are UL Listed. Mine was made by Square D, the same company that made my breaker panel. Check first with the maker of your panel.
Arnold Ziffel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 11:18 PM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Help me be safe using my generator.


The only safe/legal way to do generator installs is either install a breaker interlock or a transfer switch. There are the only two ways to ensure POCO power and generator power cannot be both turned on.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
Code05 (11-01-2012)
Old 10-31-2012, 11:36 PM   #8
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,219
Rewards Points: 2,408
Default

Help me be safe using my generator.


Quote:
Originally Posted by snowman800 View Post
I can't move the generator breaker, it's in the second sub panel in the barn. Unless I trenched another 100 feet for another run of wire.
Your present set up will never be code compliant. You cannot feed the panel in the detached barn to power the house. You are not able to prevent backfeeding the utility when you turn on the generator breaker in the barn. Two things must happen when you turn on the generator breaker it must force the turning off of the feed in the 1st sub-panel to the service equipment (big panel in your photo). Or it must force the turning off of the main breaker in the service equipment. You cannot do that in your situation.
What would work is installing a generator panel where the 1st panel is located and feed it with the generator.

Last edited by Stubbie; 11-02-2012 at 07:58 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Stubbie For This Useful Post:
Code05 (11-01-2012)
Old 11-01-2012, 01:33 AM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Help me be safe using my generator.


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I saw something a while back stating that Wyle Labs lost its listing credentials, thus voiding their listings.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
If you read that document in its entirety, you would learn that no new certifications could be made by Wyle. Previous certifications are not "voided" and are still in effect:

Quote:
...Consequently, the Agency no longer accepts product certifications made by Wyle on or after this effective date....
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
Code05 (11-01-2012)
Old 11-01-2012, 01:35 AM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Help me be safe using my generator.


Quote:
Originally Posted by snowman800 View Post
I can't move the generator breaker, it's in the second sub panel in the barn. Unless I trenched another 100 feet for another run of wire.
Citing high costs of compliance does not make non-compliance acceptable.

You asked for help to make it safe. Get out the shovels, and buy some wire if you want it safe.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
Code05 (11-01-2012)
Old 11-01-2012, 08:05 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Help me be safe using my generator.


Incidentally the same set of wires cannot be used or even time-shared to provide utility power from the house to the barn and generator power from the barn to the house.

You might as well decommission the generator inlet at the barn and install a new generator inlet and transfer switch at the house.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 04:07 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 600
Rewards Points: 512
Default

Help me be safe using my generator.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnold Ziffel View Post
There are many other interlock kits available on the market that are UL Listed. Mine was made by Square D, the same company that made my breaker panel. Check first with the maker of your panel.
Don't bother with Siemens. For some reason, they couldn't figure out how to design an interlock for their own panel that doesn't block the slots next to the backfeed breaker (even though interlockkit.com did).
operagost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 09:09 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help me be safe using my generator.


Well, maybe this is a good enough excuse to buy a Generac whole home stanby unit and replace the second sub panel with the automatic transfer switch.
Thanks.

Advertisement

snowman800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Generator & Interlock Kit Float the Neutral? Arnold Ziffel Electrical 12 01-13-2013 06:28 PM
A discussion on the Proper grounding for portable generators Stubbie Electrical 41 07-05-2012 11:15 PM
Generator connection Question - Final Plan Apollo67 Electrical 24 01-30-2012 08:44 PM
wiring a detached shed for AC power *and* generator backhaul wrooster Electrical 19 05-28-2010 12:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts