Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-15-2012, 08:32 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10
Share |
Default

help me please


i connected the ground wire coming from my breaker box to the hot lead on my 240 volt submersible well pump well i crossed a ground and a hot and tried to check it to see if it would run for less that 2 seconds is there any danger i could burn the motor up

bubbarude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 08:35 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,335
Default

help me please


Could you retype that with punctuation and capital letters?

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (06-15-2012), Speedy Petey (06-15-2012)
Old 06-15-2012, 08:37 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

help me please


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Could you retype that with punctuation and capital letters?
I don't get it either.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 08:39 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10
Default

help me please


what im trying to say is i got the ground wire and one of the hot leads crossed when i spliced the wires on the pump leads
bubbarude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 08:40 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,322
Default

help me please


I think the OP transposed 2 wires and wants to know if the smoke will come out. Why a ground was used as a hot I can't figure out.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 08:43 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10
Default

help me please


ok i had 3 wires going to the pump and 3 wires on the pump two were the hot leads and one ground by mistake got a hot and a ground crossed what im asking is if you connect a hot wire to the ground lead on a 240 volt motor will it automatically fry the motor
bubbarude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 08:44 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10
Default

help me please


and no smoke came out and no breaker tripped it was just a quick on and off of the switch
bubbarude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 08:46 PM   #8
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,335
Default

help me please


How did you get the hot and ground mixed up? The hot should have been black and the ground should have been bare or green.

That's beside the point tho. Your pump should be fine. Just be thankful you weren't touching the case of the motor when it was energized.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (06-15-2012)
Old 06-15-2012, 08:49 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10
Default

help me please


thank you very much and to the how i got them crossed this wasnt my well and someone had used all black wires with no markings i really didnt think it would ruin the motor but i didnt get to finish the job today and have been worried about it
bubbarude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 08:52 PM   #10
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,632
Default

help me please


Quote:
Originally Posted by bubbarude View Post
thank you very much and to the how i got them crossed this wasnt my well and someone had used all black wires with no markings
So why are you working on it?
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 08:53 PM   #11
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,335
Default

help me please


You really should learn to type so people can read what you are writing. You aren't texting your BFF, you are asking adults advice on a (possible) serious issue.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 08:54 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10
Default

help me please


just helping a couple who cant afford to pay someone else and didnt they didnt want to buy new wire
bubbarude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 08:57 PM   #13
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,632
Default

help me please


Quote:
Originally Posted by bubbarude View Post
just helping a couple who cant afford to pay someone else and didnt they didnt want to buy new wire
okay, so why did you offer if you don't know what you are doing? Im not giving you the third degree, I'm just curious...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 09:01 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10
Default

help me please


Well im sorry i didnt realize this was grammer 101 i just asked a simple question and i did get a answer and i thank you im typing this on my phone its not the easiest thing to type on thank you for your help and ill refrain from coming back until i learn how to properlly type this out thank you fine gents
bubbarude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 09:06 PM   #15
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

help me please


....now I get the bubba"RUDE" part.

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Missouri Bound For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (06-15-2012), stickboy1375 (06-15-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.