Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-04-2012, 08:40 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Festus, MO
Posts: 39
Share |
Default

Help me fix my subpanel wiring


I have been reading this site for a while and have learned a lot. I am working on finishing my basement and I want to add a subpanel for all the new basement circuits. I have learned on this site that all subpanels need to have the neutrals and grounds separate. There are already several subpanels installed in the house that I know are wired wrong, and I need help figuring out how to fix them and add a new subpanel.

Here is a page with some photos and information:
http://www.phoenixrize.com/Phoenixrize/Elec.html

This is a manufactured house, so the main electrical panel is in the pantry, therefore the power comes in from the meter base into a disconnect panel. The panel has 2 spaces for breakers and lugs that continue on to the main panel. There is already a 60 amp sub panel from the disconnect, and I would like to add a 90 or 100 amp subpanel for the basement in this other slot.

There are only 3 wires going to the main panel in the pantry, and the neutral and grounds are bonded. The problem is, the rest of the subpanels do not have separate neutrals and grounds.

Where do I need to bond the neutrals and grounds? What extra ground wires do I need to run?

Thanks for the input.

cube17576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 08:45 PM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,718
Default

Help me fix my subpanel wiring


Wow, somebody didn't know what they were doing...

stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 08:52 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Festus, MO
Posts: 39
Default

Help me fix my subpanel wiring


My Father in law did the original electrical hookup and the wiring in the basement. He had a master electricians license, but he doesn't really know what he is doing. With everything I have learned, I am trying to fix the problems he created.
cube17576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 08:57 PM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,718
Default

Help me fix my subpanel wiring


If you really want to fix everything, then you need to supply every panel with 4 conductors, and isolate the grounds and neutrals in every panel.....

you can buy ground bars for every panel...The only location the grounds and neutrals will be landed together is at your first disconnect, the box with the feed through lugs in it.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 06-04-2012 at 09:00 PM.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Several Questions...leading to Garage Subpanel willstutely Electrical 5 01-03-2012 01:38 PM
subpanel wiring MikeyG3 Electrical 6 04-01-2011 11:18 AM
Help please - Upgrading subpanel! wtfh4xx Electrical 24 02-01-2010 05:55 PM
Problems with Square D Subpanel bltglt507 Electrical 16 12-04-2009 08:44 PM
wiring help - subpanel? plunkinberry Electrical 2 03-12-2009 01:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.