Help Me Design My Service Pedestal - Electrical - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2012, 10:24 PM   #31
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Help me design my service pedestal


Here they require 2 6x6 posts for a service of 200 amps. I would check to make sure 4x6 is enough.

Advertisement

rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 10:33 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,471
Rewards Points: 1,298
Default

Help me design my service pedestal


Thanks, I will check. Don't like to do things twice. Do you think they would allow this to be installed on the side of a generator shed?
zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 10:40 PM   #33
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Help me design my service pedestal


I would check all your ideas off with them and could even invite them over for a site visit so you can go over everything you want to do.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 10:48 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,471
Rewards Points: 1,298
Default

Help me design my service pedestal


A little off subject from the thread but part of the overall project.

Last weekend I started the 900’ run of 3” in which 600’ of it is down a very steep hill. The 2 sweeps that you see here will come up into a junction box (pull point) for the POCO. After I finish the run I will level the ground up and place a 6” thick base of gravel. The POCO will bring a 4’ x 4’ x 6” thick precast concrete slab and set it over the sweeps. On top of the slab they place the plastic junction box. The pad has the same dimensions as a transformer so in the future if I want to tap secondary from this point all they have to do is remove the junction box and place a transformer at this location.

Help me design my service pedestal-p2260006.jpg



I’m trying something new on this run that I think will save me a lot of time, work, and aggravation. The 500’ run and 400’ run which I have been working on was dug with a 12” bucket and I placed the 2” phone conduit about 1 foot on top of the 3” power conduit. I was basically doing twice the amount of work because I had to bed the conduits at different levels and the amount of rocks in the soil is overwhelming. So, make a nice rock free flat bottom for the 3”, then backfill one foot by hand to keep the major sharp rocks away from the conduit. Compact tightly for minimum settling of the second conduit and make a flat rock free bottom for this conduit to lay on. Then backfill by hand to keep the sharp rocks away from the 2” phone conduit and finally fill the trench to the top.

So I’m thinking I will switch to a 24” bucket and bed both conduits on the bottom instead of 2 different levels. I’m finding another big plus to this idea because trying to work in a 12” wide 3’ deep trench is just plain brutal. You have to walk sideways, roots are constantly grabbing at your hips, your pockets fill to the top with dirt, and there isn’t enough room for the conduit and your feet. Another big problem was trying to glue the 20’ sticks together by myself. I wanted to glue them in the bottom of the trench but that’s impossible while you are standing on top of the conduit and you can’t bend down far enough to work because your shoulders wedge in the trench. They will slide together nicely when flat and aligned but the only flat place is the bottom of the trench. So anyway, working in this short section of 24” wide trench that I dug was like getting out of a claustrophobic hole in the ground to nice wide open spaces with no limits in my movements.

It’s hard to tell in the pic but I slowly ramped the smaller phone conduit down to the same level as the power conduit. There is also no extra digging time between a 12” and 24” trench. You are making the same number of scoops but removing twice the material.

Help me design my service pedestal-p2260007.jpg



Some of the larger rocks I’m running into.

Help me design my service pedestal-p2260005.jpg



My redneck wire and pull string feeding contraption. 2” conduit may seem like overkill for a ” diameter phone wire but it was cost effective at 50 cents per foot because the supplier orders tons of it. Smaller conduit was actually more expensive and it only came in 10’ lengths.

Help me design my service pedestal-pb190017.jpg





zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 11:10 PM   #35
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Help me design my service pedestal


At least that gives you the option to add other cables like cable TV and cat5 if needed. Very nice. What size service are you installing?
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 11:28 PM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,471
Rewards Points: 1,298
Default

Help me design my service pedestal


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
At least that gives you the option to add other cables like cable TV and cat5 if needed. Very nice. What size service are you installing?
I'm lucky to get regular twisted pair phone service. 1800' is too far for cable and I can't see the use for cat5. Maybe fiber in the far far distant future if it comes to the area.

Probably 200 amp maybe 400.....haven't made that decision yet.
zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 11:31 PM   #37
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Help me design my service pedestal


Cat5 for cameras at your generator/distribution panel. Or some other monitoring device for the building.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 11:40 PM   #38
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,471
Rewards Points: 1,298
Default

Help me design my service pedestal


Ahhh...gotcha
zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 01:22 AM   #39
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,002
Rewards Points: 506
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Help me design my service pedestal


I highly doubt a cat 5 data connection will work at 900' much less 1800', much less expecting to power a camera at the end of that run. Fiber would be the best option, if not for your service provider for your self to have a data connection at the other end. Fiber media converters for a standard 10/100 network are fairly cheap, even a lot of the gigabit media converters have come down in price.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 05:52 AM   #40
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,471
Rewards Points: 1,298
Default

Help me design my service pedestal


Quote:
Originally Posted by theatretch85 View Post
I highly doubt a cat 5 data connection will work at 900' much less 1800', much less expecting to power a camera at the end of that run. Fiber would be the best option, if not for your service provider for your self to have a data connection at the other end. Fiber media converters for a standard 10/100 network are fairly cheap, even a lot of the gigabit media converters have come down in price.
Most if not all of my buildings will be grouped within 300' of each other and rrolleston was probably suggesting cat5 for local linking.

Fiber media converters are right up my alley as I design and test for a company who manufactures them.

Advertisement


Last edited by zappa; 02-28-2012 at 08:11 AM.
zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rewire and new service entrance wire dghowery Electrical 4 10-13-2010 09:31 AM
"Moving" service entrance WillK Electrical 4 09-29-2010 02:04 PM
How to tell Service amperage?? Buckley Electrical 2 06-06-2009 06:42 PM
2x100a sub on service main jambud Electrical 17 03-12-2008 10:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts