Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-24-2011, 04:58 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Help with kitchen circuits


I'm building new kitchen cupboards!
18 feet of counter top and I want five receptacles each on their own seperate circuits. Do I have to run five 14/2 wires to each recpt. from a 15/20 amp breaker or is there some way I can free up those breakers by putting a sub panel in my cupboard bottoms? If so what do I have to do from the panel?

rounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 05:23 PM   #2
Member
 
WaldenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Nassau, Long Island, NY
Posts: 338
Default

Help with kitchen circuits


You cannot do it with 14/2. You'll need 12/2 as code requires a minimum of 2 20A circuits. I guess you could do 2 of them w/12/2 and the others with 14/2, but that seems silly, and I wouldn't swear that the code doesn't require that any circuit be 20A.

As for freeing up the breakers, you could install a subpanel, but I wouldn't do it in the cupboard bottom. Just put a sub near your original main, or in the basement under the kitchen and wire from there. Depending on the wire cost may be cheaper (or just simpler) to have the sub by the main.

BTW, why on all different circuits? Assuming other dedicated circuits for micro, DW, refrigerator and garbage disposal, how many appliances will you have on your counter. Perhaps you could just run the 2 circuits and do an A-B-A-B pattern?

WaldenL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 05:44 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,461
Default

Help with kitchen circuits


All counter circuits need to be 20 amp. You can not put a sub panel in a cupboard.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 06:38 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,030
Default

Help with kitchen circuits


Posted this before, but here goes again.
Attached Thumbnails
Help with kitchen circuits-01_cif13.jpg  
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To open up the kitchen or not timbo59 Building & Construction 15 04-30-2010 01:17 PM
removing load-bearing walls and moving the kitchen WannaReno Remodeling 2 04-02-2010 05:05 PM
Crane two handle kitchen deck faucets Nestor_Kelebay Plumbing 1 06-23-2009 08:28 AM
My Kitchen Floor-Problems!!! Please Help!!! Fat b Flooring 3 01-25-2007 03:21 PM
Kitchen remodel frank551 Electrical 2 11-15-2005 07:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.