Help Installing Track Lights In A Small Retail Store - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-01-2013, 11:53 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

help installing track lights in a small retail store

im a contractor and a retail store owner asked me to install a few small ikea track lights, any direction would help from experienced electricians.

This is my situation, please let me know if this is ok?
this isa small retail store with a large metal florescent track light that i removed. It had an on/off switch. It is connected to BX cable with a Red, Black and White cable. i am connecting 3 small lights to that line. I took the 3 wire BX and installed a metal box in the ceiling where i am connecting yellow cable the owner purchased (black, white and copper ground). The yellow is now coming out of the metal box to another metal box that will connect the light. the light has black, white and ground.

i will cap off the black on the bx, connect red to black on yellow cable and white to white and ground the yellow copper to the metal box.

on the light i will connect black to black from yellow cable and white to white. the ground from the light i will connect to the metal box. and so on for other 2 lights.

does this sound right?
thanks

Advertisement

da1999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 02:28 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 500

Just curious as to why R to B in the first box (with the BX) instead of B to B? What were the original connections to the fluorescent? Are there any other 3-wire BXs in there?

You said it had an "on/off switch": on the fixture? Are there any wall switches that controlled this fixture, like 3-ways?

Is this a drop ceiling? If so, I don't believe Romex (the yellow [12/2]) cable can be used).

Advertisement

Old 07-02-2013, 05:51 AM   #3
Licensed Electrician

Rewards Points: 2,006