HELP!!! Installing A Floor Receptacle. [PHOTOS] - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2011, 12:34 PM   #1
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10

HELP!!! Installing a floor receptacle. [PHOTOS]

I have a huge emergency. I am getting carpet installed and JUST noticed that one of our floor outlets did not actually have an outlet in it.

I removed the "screw in plug" and discovered just wires. I have tested with the multimeter that they are live and working.

Now what? I have carpet installed tomorrow.

Is there a product that installs ABOVE the floor that I can safely use? This is on a concreate slab so I am basically screwed (can't install a traditional floor receptacle with a deep box).

Help!!! Need to do this in the next 24 hours with available parts in the Minneapolis area. Is this even possible??

This is a DIFFERENT receptacle that actually has the outlet.

This is what I am working with (sorry it's upside down):


FirstAndTen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 02:11 PM   #2
rditz's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 271
Rewards Points: 250

do these daisy chain from one to the next?? if, so, you could kill the breaker, then pull each of the floow plugs and figure out which one feeds the one with the missing plug and then cut it off so it is permanently dead.

do you use the floor plugs?? if not, why can't you kill the breaker (assume that they are the only load on the breaker), and then remove the feed from the breaker panel..

is your plan to carpet over the plugs or around them??



rditz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 02:36 PM   #3
joed's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 11,794
Rewards Points: 10,380
Blog Entries: 11

Since I only see one wire of each color I can assume this is the last receptacle in the chain. Find the other end of the wires and cut them off. Once the wires are dead in this box you can cover it over.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
operagost (03-29-2011)
Old 03-28-2011, 04:58 PM   #4
Scared Electrician
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500

you know there is no requirement for them to be dead as long as they have wirenuts on them and the box is accessible, right?

In short you could just tuck those wires back in there and put the cover on, as long as you could get to it later.
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist

Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 05:23 PM   #5
joed's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 11,794
Rewards Points: 10,380
Blog Entries: 11

I would not consider buried under carpet to be accessible, that is why I said to disconnect it.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 08:50 AM   #6
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 614
Rewards Points: 590

I agree with joed's solution. If you need a receptacle here, I would recommend that you tie one end of a string onto the receptacle just before this one and the other end onto one of the wires in this empty location. When you unscrew the wire, pull it and the string all the way through to that empty hole and tie or tape the string somewhere. That way, later when you decide it's time to put a new receptacle here, (once you cut through your new carpet) you'll have a pull string.
operagost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 09:07 AM   #7
Licensed electrician
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 10,234
Rewards Points: 622

That receptacle may be needed to satisfy the receptacle spacing rules.
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 01:59 PM   #8
A "Handy Husband"
rjniles's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 7,057
Rewards Points: 3,966

[IMG]file:///C:/Users/Bob/AppData/Local/Temp/moz-screenshot.png[/IMG][IMG]file:///C:/Users/Bob/AppData/Local/Temp/moz-screenshot-1.png[/IMG]How about a tombstone electrical box. You know, like the kind on the tables in the High School Chem. lab.
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 02:44 AM   #9
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25

the best idea is to disconnect the wires it so dangerous even we put a carpet to it, the best thing to do is disconnect the connection of wires first befor putting some carpets.


desiree_furman is offline   Reply With Quote

in-ground receptacle

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing a suspended in a room that has an angled wall... markronz Remodeling 10 02-20-2010 09:03 AM
Installing saddle valve on hot water pipe Dbizot Plumbing 6 01-14-2010 11:11 AM
Installing plinth blocks? Badfish740 Carpentry 6 02-09-2009 10:45 AM
Installing DWV system new construction joebart Plumbing 2 01-29-2009 07:45 AM
Installing new wall receptacle... jaysen Electrical 18 06-10-2008 08:26 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1