Help If It's Not Too Late!! - Electrical - Page 16 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-03-2008, 09:41 AM   #226
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Help if it's not too late!!


Thanks for letting us know things worked out well. That is great news. Have you checked voltage at the non working fixture? What type of fixture?

Advertisement

__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 10:29 AM   #227
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,206
Rewards Points: 2,382
Default

Help if it's not too late!!


Yeah.. Cyndi lets get the whole thing working properly...how you going to see the bears without light???
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 11:07 AM   #228
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 146
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Help if it's not too late!!


Hi John and Stubbie!!! I feel like I have just met up with some old friends again!!!! I missed you guys a bunch.

Anyway, the GFCI outlet at the location works but the light at the top of the pole does not. It is a sensor light that came on when I turned on the breaker, but then shut off like it was supposed to do, then it will not turn on again. I fiddled with the wiring a bit in the receptacle box to make sure that there were good connections, the light came on again, then turned off and did not come on at dark. This is the one that is on the multi wire circuit, the nearest to the panel and the other one at the end works fine.

It may be that the sensor light is malfunctioning?? The light fixtures were hooked up last year and worked fine but this particular one, did set outside in the weather for a few months when it was disconnected. I thought it was protected but maybe not.

I would like to get it figured out as we have a huge cougar hanging around. It was spotted day before yesterday about 100 feet from our driveway.

Cyndi
__________________
Student of the great electrical GURU.....Stubbie!
Cyndi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 06:45 PM   #229
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Help if it's not too late!!


I would suspect the photo eye (sensor). When you turn the circuit off and then on, the photo eye contacts close and the light comes on. But then the contacts are not closing again at dark. That sounds like a defective eye.

I would want more than a light with that cat prowling. Big gun sounds about right.
__________________
John

Last edited by jrclen; 10-03-2008 at 06:48 PM.
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 10:36 PM   #230
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 146
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Help if it's not too late!!


Yeh, that sounds about right, but with an animal rescue......it would be bad publicity for us to do him in!!!! We did notify some of the hunting neighbors that have cougar tags for the hunt. Hopefully they will take care of the situation.

I have been busy running new circuits from the interior house panel, then down under the house and up into some new bedroom walls. I am opening an Adult Family Home in our house for the elderly. I needed dedicated circuits for their oxygen concentrators and also separate circuits for the air conditioners that we are going to install in the walls. So I added 4 circuits all together. Two for each bedroom. That project went real well. Lots easier than the last one!! I helped my cousin frame the walls and then I drywalled, taped and textured them. Just an ol' handy- woman!!!

I still can't believe I tackled the barn project as my first one. I guess I should be proud of myself, huh??? I only got shocked once and that was once too many.

I do have another "fix it" on the first job. The receptacle at the light that doesn't work needs replaced as the box broke when I was attaching a box extender. The metal bracket on the box attached to the wood pole came loose at the weld and now it is no longer able to be put together with screws to make it water proof. Always something. Now I have to dismantle the whole thing, light and all to replace that box. What a pain!!!! I couldn't fit all the wires in a regular box cause this was where the multi-wired circuit continued to the next pole and outlet on the second circuit. I think I had 14 wires in that box from different directions. Including the ones on the receptacle. Crazy!!!

I hate the bubble covers that I had to put on them. It sticks out like a sore thumb. Have you ever used the expandable kind??? They looked pretty cool. You just expand them when you are going to use them. HD said they were to code but I didn't take their word for it. I just bought the bubble ones cause I knew they were o.k.

My next project is to add baseboard heaters to a 600 square foot family room. There is no crawl and no basement for that room so I have to run the circuits from the panel in the house, outside and along the exterior wall, then back into that room through the wall. I am going to install 3 heaters in all. I may have some questions!!! There is also a funky old light fixture on a wall that used to be an exterior wall and is now a wall in the family room. The fixture is open with no cover. There are wires capped and some attached to romex that runs up the wall and into the ceiling of the family room addition. This one feeds two ceiling fans/lights and the other romex wire is hanging loose with caps. Looks pretty tacky to say the least. I will send a photo later and maybe you all can make suggestions as how to remedy the situation without comprimising the ceiling fan/lights.

Well, hope you all have a good night. Talk with you soon. Thanks again for all your help. Cyndi
__________________
Student of the great electrical GURU.....Stubbie!
Cyndi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 08:44 AM   #231
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,186
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Help if it's not too late!!


Think of putting hydronic heating in the ground rather than heat lamps. Hydronic heating is way more efficient. It is also more expensive to install but well worth the effort in the long run.
Marvin Gardens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 10:11 AM   #232
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Help if it's not too late!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyndi View Post
Yeh, that sounds about right, but with an animal rescue......it would be bad publicity for us to do him in!!!!
I forgot about the rescue part. I agree, killing it would be rather tacky. I would fire a warning shot first of course. I only kill what I eat. And my cat Benny would frown on my eating kitty cat.

Quote:
So I added 4 circuits all together. Two for each bedroom. That project went real well. Lots easier than the last one!! I helped my cousin frame the walls and then I drywalled, taped and textured them. Just an ol' handy- woman!!!
That is great. And think of all the cash you saved.

Quote:
I still can't believe I tackled the barn project as my first one. I guess I should be proud of myself, huh??? I only got shocked once and that was once too many.
That was a large project but you did it. You are lucky, under the right (wrong) conditions, one shock can be the last one. Get a contact voltage detector and put it in your tool belt. Use it religiously.

Quote:
I do have another "fix it" on the first job. The receptacle at the light that doesn't work needs replaced as the box broke when I was attaching a box extender. The metal bracket on the box attached to the wood pole came loose
I once installed a run of rigid conduit, screwed into weather proof boxes, down an ally, attached to a cement wall, for plugging in truck heaters. This was a three phase (multi wire) circuit with 5 wires. I was called back two weeks later. A truck had backed into the first box in the run where the conduit came up from under the driveway. I had to dismantle 9 boxes and the conduit and wires between them to replace that one box. Only getting paid by the hour saves my attitude on days like that.

Quote:
I hate the bubble covers that I had to put on them. It sticks out like a sore thumb. Have you ever used the expandable kind??? They looked pretty cool. You just expand them when you are going to use them. HD said they were to code but I didn't take their word for it. I just bought the bubble ones cause I knew they were o.k.
I agree those bubbles are just plain ugly. And they break within the first year. If the box and cover is UL listed and is still rain tight with a cord plugged in, it meets code.

Quote:
My next project is to add baseboard heaters to a 600 square foot family room. There is no crawl and no basement for that room so I have to run the circuits from the panel in the house, outside and along the exterior wall, then back into that room through the wall. I am going to install 3 heaters in all. I may have some questions!!!
Make sure the conductors are rated for a wet location. We will be happy to answer any questions you have.

Quote:
There is also a funky old light fixture on a wall that used to be an exterior wall and is now a wall in the family room. The fixture is open with no cover. There are wires capped and some attached to romex that runs up the wall and into the ceiling of the family room addition. This one feeds two ceiling fans/lights and the other romex wire is hanging loose with caps. Looks pretty tacky to say the least. I will send a photo later and maybe you all can make suggestions as how to remedy the situation without compromising the ceiling fan/lights.
Pictures are always good.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 12:50 PM   #233
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 146
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Help if it's not too late!!


John and Stubbie-

I am building a llama shelter today. We had an unexpected baby llama born 3 days ago and the weather is supposed to cool down considerably in the next couple of days.

Then off to work for a couple of days. I had to take up some elderly care work in Spokane to help supplement our income. Crappy economy!!!!!!! Like I have nothing better to do than to drive into town (1-1/2 hours each way) to work for 9 dollars an hour. Gotta do what ya gotta do till our new venture gets started. We have been in the real estate field for 6 years and you know how that has gone down the toilet.

I'll be off line for a few days. Thanks again for all of your help guys. I couldn't have done it without you by any means. Thanks for the education. Maybe I should get a job as an aprentice electrician!!!

Cyndi
__________________
Student of the great electrical GURU.....Stubbie!
Cyndi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 12:53 PM   #234
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 146
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Help if it's not too late!!


Marvin Gardens- I just read your post. I don't know what you were talking about....heat lamps. Did you mean the ones that I am hooking up in the barn for the animals???? Cause in the house, I am putting in baseboard heaters.

In the barn, the flooring is dirt and the feces and urine would probably not work with in the ground Hydronic heat would it??? Plus it sounds like overkill for what I need.

Thanks anyway. cyndi
__________________
Student of the great electrical GURU.....Stubbie!
Cyndi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 12:57 PM   #235
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 146
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Help if it's not too late!!


John- About the shock......I was putting a plastic bag over the exposed wiring in one of the boxes at a pole cause I couldn't fit all of the wires in at the time and needed to protect it from the weather when I touched the metal screw on the side of the receptacle. It was a small shock but I do take it seriously. Now I turn of the power no matter what I am doing which is what I should have done in the first place. That is the only time that I have had the power on in the entire process.

Hey, by the way. How do you take my quotes and put them in your reply??? That sure would be handy.

Cyndi
__________________
Student of the great electrical GURU.....Stubbie!
Cyndi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 01:03 PM   #236
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Help if it's not too late!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyndi View Post

Hey, by the way. How do you take my quotes and put them in your reply??? That sure would be handy.

Cyndi
Very carefully...
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 01:06 PM   #237
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 146
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Help if it's not too late!!


Hope there is more helpful information to come cause that wasn't too helpful!!!!
__________________
Student of the great electrical GURU.....Stubbie!
Cyndi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 01:08 PM   #238
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Help if it's not too late!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyndi View Post
Hope there is more helpful information to come cause that wasn't too helpful!!!!
I know, I saw that you were on, and wanted to be a smart arse. But you click the quote button at the bottom of the form.

Last edited by InPhase277; 10-04-2008 at 01:10 PM.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 01:53 PM   #239
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,206
Rewards Points: 2,382
Default

Help if it's not too late!!


Hi Cyndi

Two ways to qoute, if you want the entire reply in qoutes just click the qoute tab at bottom right of the reply your wanting to refer.

If you want to select what you qoute you can go to the post reply page and the far right ICON that looks like it has text inside the borders. Select and highlight by clicking and dragging over the text you want. Then go up to the qoute icon and click on it. It will put what you highlighted in qoutes. It won't show until you submit your reply but the qoutes will show at the beginning and end of the text you selected. If you click the preview tab next to the submit reply it will show you what you have before you send it for posting.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 06:35 PM   #240
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Help if it's not too late!!


I didn't know that Stubbie. I'll have to try that someday. I just type [quot] before the section and [/quot] after the section that I want to quote. Of course I spell it quote each time. Seems to work.

Advertisement

__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stumped: Basement water and fix- Did I make things worse? jws3 Building & Construction 27 10-16-2008 08:38 AM
Wood fence set in Cement Deck nadman Landscaping & Lawn Care 10 04-18-2008 08:59 PM
What's so hard about Bricking and Masonry? wesc Building & Construction 25 04-17-2008 04:57 PM
Late night safety concern. Please help. sooner2k1 General DIY Discussions 3 01-10-2008 09:28 AM
Holly bushes - when to trim BrianL Landscaping & Lawn Care 4 04-24-2007 03:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts