Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-08-2010, 03:46 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Help with HVAC blower motor wiring


I got a cage blower and motor from a heating and cooling place and I want to make an air cleaner for my shop. I would like the advice of a pro before I dive in and fry this motor. I"m guessing blower white wire goes to house white neutral wire. Ground the motor and blower assembly with bare wire from house wiring. Put a four way selector or four way with an off position for the different speeds and connect to the black common house wire. Put the on off switch on the common black house wire? What kind of selector would you recommend? Do I need to add airflow resistance to this blower so the motor doesn't draw too many amps? This blower no longer has the resistance of a house full of ducting. Has anyone ever tried this and what were your experiences?

Thanks,
John

General Electric 1/2 hp 115v 7.9amp 1075rpm
part number 5KCP39LG






Jcpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 04:03 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Help with HVAC blower motor wiring


Your wiring plan is right. As far as speed control, I would get a fan rheostat and wire the motor for high speed then just adjust the air flow with the rheostat. If you need to add resistance to the air flow just have a damper in there.

wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 06:40 PM   #3
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,603
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Help with HVAC blower motor wiring


Blowers like that one very rarely overload.

If you need only one speed, you can use a standard light switch, and connect it to either bla, yel, blu, or red. Only one of them. If it isn't the speed you want, try another. Insulate the others, as they will be hot while the motor is running.

If you need all 4 speeds, your description above will work.

If you use a speed control, make sure it's designed for motors, and is rated at least 8 amps.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 07:32 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Help with HVAC blower motor wiring


Thank you guys I really appreciate the help. A local motor shop wanted $35 to look at it. Now I just need to build an enclosure and find some hepa filters for it.
Jcpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 02:28 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Help with HVAC blower motor wiring


I'm doing the same thing with my blower. What gauge and type of cord should I use so nothing overheats? (see diagram attached).
Attached Thumbnails
Help with HVAC blower motor wiring-2012-03-18_14-58-30_639.jpg  
aboekman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goodman HVAC system blower stuck on? OhNoes HVAC 14 09-03-2011 07:32 PM
Furnace will not stay on allenzachary HVAC 32 09-21-2010 08:30 PM
Carrier 58MXA Wiring Blower Switch 63012753 HVAC 0 10-06-2009 09:09 PM
AC blower short cycling-works on heat though Steve60007 HVAC 14 06-22-2009 04:00 PM
Goodman HVAC gmp100-3 Inside blower problems ray_adrea HVAC 4 06-28-2007 12:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.