Help With Grounding Bar On New 200a Main - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-24-2012, 04:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

help with grounding bar on new 200a main


I am replacing my 200 amp 20 space panel with a 200 amp 40 space panel. I am replacing the panel rather than installing a sub panel. I am confused on how to wire the ground bus bar. my current panel has 2 separate neutral bars that are used for both neutral and ground and are connected to each other. The new panel box also has 2 separate and connected neutral bars. I want install a separate ground bus bar to make things a little neater. Do I need to connect the neutral bars to the ground bar and/or to the connecting strap to the metal box?

Advertisement

djasinski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 04:24 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

help with grounding bar on new 200a main


The two neutral busses (bars) need to be bonded to each other using the approved strap.

(Assuming that this new 200 amp panel is the main panel, its breaker is the first main disconnect for the building)

Provided that there is good bare metal to metal contact between the ground bus bar and the panel back and good bare metal to metal contact between the strap or other metal contact for the neutral busses and the panel back then you don't need a direct connection between the neutral busses and the new ground bus.

Advertisement

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 07-24-2012 at 04:27 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 04:29 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

help with grounding bar on new 200a main


So, you say that I do need to bond the neutral and ground bars somehow, either direct strap bond or indectly through the back panel?

Would this change if I wanted to conect a generator via interlock kit and 30a breaker backfeed?
djasinski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2012, 09:50 PM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

help with grounding bar on new 200a main


I have never seen a 200A 20 space panel. I'm not saying that they haven't ever made it, just that I've never seen it.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
electric grounding bar in main panel steve gregory Electrical 13 01-22-2012 03:20 AM
Need to know if my grounds and neutrals are connected right dorlow Electrical 185 01-15-2012 03:54 PM
Grounding Questions ZBat910 Electrical 61 09-09-2011 03:45 PM
Main grounding electrode wire to panel rovers1973 Electrical 4 03-18-2010 07:18 PM
Replace main panel? And lots of other ?s Bcoleman6 Electrical 13 01-22-2008 10:40 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts