Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-22-2011, 08:27 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

help GFI wiring


Ok I will be installing 1 gfi and 3 regular outlets down circuit so they are protected also. Question is when I connect the hot can I "wrap" it around gold screw and then go directly to the "load" screw and then to next outlet or is the "load" wire a totally new wire

jvap42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 08:42 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 114
Default

help GFI wiring


most likely you will have a 2 wire entering the box and a 2 wire exiting. the 2 wire from the panel will be the line side of the gfi. The other 2 wire leaving and going to feed the other 3 outlets are on the load side. they need to be seperated you cannot wrap the hot from the line to the load. it will not work right.

Chevyman30571 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 08:44 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Default

help GFI wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by jvap42 View Post
Ok I will be installing 1 gfi and 3 regular outlets down circuit so they are protected also. Question is when I connect the hot can I "wrap" it around gold screw and then go directly to the "load" screw and then to next outlet or is the "load" wire a totally new wire
The power is connected to the line 'gold' screw and nothing else. The neutral (white) is connected to the line, silver, in the same manner.
The down-stream receptacles have the neutral fed from load silver and the hot from the load gold.

DO NOT JUMPER THE TERMINALS!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 08:57 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,497
Default

help GFI wiring


You do not wrap the screws. You strip the wires and insert then into the holes and tighten the clamp screws.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 09:19 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 7
Default

help GFI wiring


Thanks guys so I'm guessing the ground and neutral are ran the same as the hots? so every outlet will have basically "new" wires connecting the next outlet
jvap42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 09:34 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,497
Default

help GFI wiring


Once downstream of the GFI and wired to the load terminals you can use regular duplex receptacles. These do not have line and load.

Be sure to pigtail all the grounds and connect to the GFI, and the box if metallic.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring diagram for three-way switches with pilot light SaxTeacher Electrical 34 09-15-2013 07:53 AM
Cloth Wiring - Replace? JessicaGus Electrical 9 09-23-2009 06:45 PM
electric wiring in house remodel wis_remod Electrical 6 04-02-2009 02:40 PM
New Home Wiring - Seeking Expert Advice Dirtrnr Electrical 3 02-10-2009 10:33 AM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.