HELP! Fuse Box Issue - Bad Edison Base - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-13-2010, 11:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Question

HELP! Fuse box issue - bad edison base


I know the best option is to replace the fuse box w/ a breaker box, but I don't have the money to do so right now. Here's the problem...

1) 15 amp Type S fuse will no longer screw into the Edison Base in the fuse box because it has been replaced so many times the threads are stripped. Is it possible to replace this base so a fuse can once again be screwed in?

2) Can a fuse box be replaced with a breaker box without having to rewire the entire house (there are no grounds throughout the house) ?


Any help is appreciated

Thanks

Advertisement

andersda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 12:37 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Western Maine
Posts: 201
Rewards Points: 150
Default

HELP! Fuse box issue - bad edison base


1. Some fuseboxes were somewhat "modular" and parts could be replaced. Not very common, and good luck finding parts.

2. Yes.

Advertisement

emolatur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 01:44 AM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

HELP! Fuse box issue - bad edison base


To answer your question

1) Oui some fuse box may have moduar peices to replace and AFAIK not all electricians will have this part on hand.

On otherhand some electricians do have specal fuse socket remover which the gimzo will remove the locking spike to unscrew it and install the new one which I have that gimzo and not a common item at all.

2) Oui it done quite few time however all it depending on the state and local code requirement they may have to add a AFCI breakers depending on code cycle and what the local code cover on this part { this part you will have to check with the inspector on this part or your local electrician will know this part }

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 12:54 PM   #4
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 360
Rewards Points: 252
Default

HELP! Fuse box issue - bad edison base


Quote:
Originally Posted by andersda View Post
1) 15 amp Type S fuse will no longer screw into the Edison Base in the fuse box because it has been replaced so many times the threads are stripped. Is it possible to replace this base so a fuse can once again be screwed in?
Is it a non-tamper adapter screwed into an edison base holder? Or is the fuse block a 15 A one that has the special threads for 15 fusestats only?

If it has the fusestat adapter, it can be easily replaced (with a special technique), but I recommend you have an electrician do it due to the close proximity to live parts.

If the socket base is integral to the block, you are SOL unless you can fine someone with a junk panel of the same type, where the parts you need can be robbed off.
junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
edison base , fuse , fuse box , replacement , s type


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to nail base cap of baseboard molding conradA Flooring 3 06-23-2010 12:57 PM
Carrier 8000TS Control Bd Fuse blows EAP HVAC 2 08-28-2008 09:07 PM
Really Old Fuse Box GooperMC Electrical 10 07-04-2008 08:45 AM
Problems with new fuse box for a dryer. needsomehelp Electrical 12 04-11-2008 12:20 AM
fuse went BANG davej Electrical 1 01-23-2006 01:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts