Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-12-2010, 12:27 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Help fixing garage electric for Home Theater


The conductor for #10 AWG is 3/32" in dia.

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 12:48 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,970
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

Help fixing garage electric for Home Theater


If you don't have a third insulated wire (usually red) in the cable coming into the subpanel from the house, then it's not a 10-3 cable and there is no further need to look at the cable jacket for a label.

With just black, white, and bare you must remove the white from a breaker post back at the main panel and connect it to the neutral bus there in order to have 115 volts at the subpanel using the existing cable. You will now have only one allotment of 30 amps at 115 volts.

Others would disagree with me but I would string overhead conductors (four: hot, hot, neutral, ground) from house to garage before I dig up a nice concrete or asphalt driveway in between for an underground feed.

If you string a new feed from the house to the garage, you must decommission the old feed including if one is overhead and the other is underground. So the new feed should be be heavy enough to handle all of the loads. Only one feed of any given kind can go between any two buildings. (115 or 115/230 volt feeds are considered the same kind; a 3 phase feed, rare in residential areas, is a different kind) You could install a new subpanel and connect the existing subpanel as a sub-subpanel.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 05-12-2010 at 01:11 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 10:56 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Help fixing garage electric for Home Theater


You can only have a 120 or a 230 volt circuit with this cable, not both. No 120/230.

120 Volt - Wht - Neutral, blk - Hot, Bare - Ground.
230 Volt - Wht - Hot, Blk - Hot, Bare Ground. No neutral present.

If it were my house, I would install a 100 amp sub. Since you have to do all this work, why not do it right this time and be done with it. That's just me.

Don't forget! 4 wires!


Last edited by J. V.; 05-13-2010 at 11:03 AM.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fixing a Flooding Garage Earthworm Jim General DIY Discussions 4 05-03-2010 09:20 AM
installing electric heat garage - frozen pipes? mothgraphics Electrical 10 12-20-2009 01:29 PM
Electric radiant heat in the garage art2670 Flooring 4 01-26-2008 09:58 AM
Electric in garage kelr Building & Construction 3 04-15-2005 08:50 PM
electric service in garage kelr Electrical 2 03-26-2005 09:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.