Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-26-2013, 04:28 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help fix service entrance ground.


Hi all, I just buried my 4-4-2 URD a few months ago. The meter pole with a 200 amp breaker panel and ground is 150ft from the house. Is there a way to fix the ground without digging?








This is a drawing


Mad-Dax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 04:33 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

Help fix service entrance ground.


What do you mean fix? What is wrong with it?

Also, PLEASE don't tell me you are leaving the panel in the house that way!! You ARE using conduit the whole way...right?
And you MUST run 4-wires to the shed panel. You cannot just have H-H-N, you also need an equipment ground.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (04-27-2013)
Old 04-26-2013, 04:35 PM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Help fix service entrance ground.


Has this been inspected yet? I see a number of issues that would need addressing around here.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (04-27-2013), mpoulton (04-26-2013), Speedy Petey (04-26-2013), stickboy1375 (04-26-2013)
Old 04-26-2013, 04:47 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help fix service entrance ground.


Yeah this is not completed yet...No it is not in conduit it is URD and I directly buried it 24 inches deep. No it has not been inspected. I need to run the URD in conduit up from the soil to the box that is exposed at the moment in the house.

I thought that I needed a 4th wire coming from the meter box and into the house panel and placed on a non-bonded ground bus separate from the big black and yellow neutral. I do know I need 4 wires going to the shed subpanel non-bonded ground/neutral. I was trying to figure out a way to fix the issue without redigging the 150ft trench to add another wire for the ground from the meter to the house. Or am I wrong again?
Mad-Dax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 04:49 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Help fix service entrance ground.


Feel free to add to whatever I may miss:

1) No bonding screw in the panel at the pole
2) No Equipment grounding conductor run from the pole
3) No bushing on the connector at (either) panel
4) No rods driven at shed/workshop/man cave
5) Panel appears to be flush with studs
6) No proper connector for URD into shed panel
7) URD not strapped/supported
8) No ground bar in shed panel
9) No nail plates on bottom plate of shed panel wall
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.



Last edited by k_buz; 04-26-2013 at 04:57 PM.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 04:51 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

Help fix service entrance ground.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad-Dax View Post
Yeah this is not completed yet...No it is not in conduit it is URD and I directly buried it 24 inches deep. .....


I thought that I needed a 4th wire coming from the meter box and into the house panel ......
So who ran only 3-wire URD direct bury?
Get them to fix it.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 05:00 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help fix service entrance ground.


The panel in pictures 2 and 3 is the house.

I ran everything from the pole to the house...I ran the URD 3 wire direct bury because the electric company guy told me that is what I needed and I bought it from the electric company...my mistake for listening to him.

So for starters I basically need to dig up the 150ft that is buried and add the 4th wire as the EGC...there is no getting around that right?? and then I can fix the rest of it.
Mad-Dax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 05:05 PM   #8
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Help fix service entrance ground.


In that case, I'm suspecting the way you have it is not going to fly unless you have a disconnect on the outside of the house. I am not 100% on that as we do not put our meters on a pole 150' away from what I'm feeding.

Who spec'd 4/0 AL for your feeders? There is no account for voltage drop with that wire size. 150' is a LONG way. You are at least one wire size too small IMO.

I'm assuming that you have had the service energized by the temp receptacle hanging from the panel. How did you manage that without a service inspection?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 05:12 PM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

Help fix service entrance ground.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad-Dax View Post
I ran everything from the pole to the house...I ran the URD 3 wire direct bury because the electric company guy told me that is what I needed and I bought it from the electric company...my mistake for listening to him.
If you didn't have a panel at the meter pole the 3-wire would have been fine.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 05:14 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help fix service entrance ground.


LOL well I am in Texas and in this rural county there is no inspections. The electric company engineers who installed the service at the pole told me that the 4-4-2 will work for the 200amps. He even told me that they have run 280ft with alum 4-4-2 200 amp service without problems...so I just listened to him. I do not have a disconnect outside the house. The breaker in the box on the pole is the disconnect I guess. I started to try and find out if what I did so far was according to NEC...so I know there are things that need to be fixed and that is why I needed you guy's help.
Mad-Dax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 05:14 PM   #11
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,142
Rewards Points: 2,076
Default

Help fix service entrance ground.


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
In that case, I'm suspecting the way you have it is not going to fly unless you have a disconnect on the outside of the house. I am not 100% on that as we do not put our meters on a pole 150' away from what I'm feeding.

He did not meet any of the exception requirements in 230.6 Conductors Considered Outside the Building If he had ran his URD in conduit, he would have met 230.6(4) and he would have been okay... but he has some SERIOUS code violations.... sometimes DIY is just not worth the cost in mistakes.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (04-27-2013)
Old 04-26-2013, 05:16 PM   #12
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,142
Rewards Points: 2,076
Default

Help fix service entrance ground.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad-Dax View Post
I do not have a disconnect outside the house. The breaker in the box on the pole is the disconnect I guess
You need a disconnect at every structure, In your situation, the way you ran the URD into the structure, does not meet code. sorry.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 05:17 PM   #13
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Help fix service entrance ground.


I can understand rural areas not having an inspection department for little jobs, but I cannot understand how the wiring of a new home doesn't require an inspection. You are a long way off from being NEC compliant.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 05:19 PM   #14
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

Help fix service entrance ground.


Up until not too long ago in NYS we were allowed to run 3-wire feeders between structures, and from a main disconnect to a separate house panel.
If you have no codes then maybe you are OK. I just have an issue with the whole "my area has no codes" idea.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 05:20 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help fix service entrance ground.


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
You need a disconnect at every structure, In your situation, the way you ran the URD into the structure, does not meet code. sorry.
Well besides the disconnect...because it is not in conduit? Or because I used triplex instead quadplex? They (Electric company engineer) told me I did not need to use conduit.

Mad-Dax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Proper way to ground a subpanel chieftaing Electrical 25 04-03-2011 11:22 AM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 12:36 PM
rewire and new service entrance wire dghowery Electrical 4 10-13-2010 09:31 AM
Service entrance ground size ? banks10 Electrical 4 12-18-2008 06:20 AM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 07:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.