Help! Exposed Wire In My Chandelier?! - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2010, 04:37 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

help! exposed wire in my chandelier?!


hi everyone! i have a question about my chandelier i got second-hand. the wire coming out of the top (where you would connect it to the ceiling wire) has exposed wire. the wrapped wire is spliced into two, but then theres just a plain old third wire, coming out of the chandelier, running all the way up next to the wrapped wire. im assuming this is unsafe. and im also assuming i need to connect all three wires to the box in the ceiling. also, the wires are not color coded. SO, do i have to re wire this? if so, am i going to have to take this whole thing apart and re wire the arms too? (it has 10 arms! ahhh!) what should i do?? i have no idea where to ever start...

Advertisement

ashleyrae24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 04:46 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 120
Rewards Points: 75
Default

help! exposed wire in my chandelier?!


U have to rewire all ten arms






The double wire is ur hot and neutral. The one with the ribbed side is the neutral and the other is ur hot. The bare wire is ur ground wire. This is normal and safe

Advertisement

heartlessmcfly is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to heartlessmcfly For This Useful Post:
ashleyrae24 (11-30-2010)
Old 11-30-2010, 04:48 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 2,051
Rewards Points: 1,022
Default

help! exposed wire in my chandelier?!


Why do you think you need to rewire it? The bare wire coming up the chain is the ground wire as stated.
bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 04:59 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

help! exposed wire in my chandelier?!


ok...the bare wire is the ground wire, which i would hook up to the green wire in the box, right? the other two go to the white and black...got it. i didnt know there was a "ground" wire, bc the current chandelier thats up doesnt have that, it only has the hot and neutral connected...so, now im hoping the box is even grounded. also, i have two switches for the same fixture, so im assuming theres going to be even more wires to attach to the white and black wires. im just thankfull that wire is normal andi dont have to rewire it! thanks guys!!!
ashleyrae24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 05:01 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 120
Rewards Points: 75
Default

help! exposed wire in my chandelier?!


Whatever the old fixture was wired to, that's what the new fixture goes to. He ground is green yes
heartlessmcfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What type wire to use from transfer switch to outdoor outlet brjl Electrical 32 11-20-2013 09:36 AM
Proper Use of Green Wire Nuts HooKooDooKu Electrical 16 06-29-2012 07:41 PM
6/3 wire through smurf tube? anygren Electrical 13 08-14-2010 08:23 AM
Decommissioning old armored wire circuit toddmanqa Electrical 6 12-04-2009 09:55 AM
Burial wire and a seeming difference of opinion... SxS Electrical 19 02-24-2009 10:16 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts