Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-10-2011, 08:31 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help Electrical Panel Overload


I have an Thomas&Betts model TBB10 (20-20)c electrical panel. My question is I still have room for more breakers but all the neutral and ground wires take up all the buss space. In this panel which I did not install, they already have some ground and neutral wires under one screw. They do not have them mixed but some have two ground and some have two neutrals. My question is I need to add another breaker ( I have 3 open spots) but I have no place to put the neutral or ground.

hrdrok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 09:49 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,970
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

Help Electrical Panel Overload


You can buy another buss bar (terminal strip) that you can mount in a less crowded spot in the panel.

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 10:00 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help Electrical Panel Overload


I bought a ten screw buss at Lowes, but did not know if I can just screw that to the panel. They other 2 buss have grounds wire. Right side buss has a ground wire to the main water line and the left side buss has the 3rd wire from the incoming service. Would I put ground or neutral wires on the new buss?
hrdrok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 11:19 PM   #4
Journeyman Wireman
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 188
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Help Electrical Panel Overload


If you are only adding one breaker, free up lug space by pigtailing some of the grounds together and putting the tail in one lug. Just size the ground pigtail to the largest of the grounds your are combining. If you want room future circuits, add an additional ground bar.
Jupe Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 08:19 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,970
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

Help Electrical Panel Overload


Quote:
...Just size the ground pigtail to the largest of the grounds your are combining ...
Regarding a bus bar purchased separately, if you put only 12 (and/or) 14 gauge ground wires and no neutrals on it, then just one 12 gauge wire goes from it to the bus bar already on the panel.

Depending on the separate bus bar and the instructions, it might not be necessary to run any jumper from it to the bus already on the panel.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new sub panel BlueBSH Electrical 11 01-22-2012 09:28 AM
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 11:39 PM
Recessed Light & Electrical Panel MartinD Electrical 3 09-30-2010 08:42 PM
Upgrading an electrical panel syndicate1 Electrical 6 07-05-2010 11:35 PM
Electrical Panel Knockout Help atw58 Electrical 14 07-24-2009 11:51 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.