Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-17-2010, 04:47 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Help with electrical outlets?


I found the box Frenchelectrician was talking about but it is 2" deep.

peasantgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 05:16 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Help with electrical outlets?


Well, I'm surely gonna have to do sumthin', cuz that outlet is where my fridge is supposed to plug into! Not to mention how many outlets were connected to that line, lol.

I went back and measured the wall again and it is actually almost 2"; I wasn't counting for the wall thickness earlier.

So, if I got those special boxes that Frenchy mentioned off Amazon, they are plenty big enough, so my last problem is the length of the wires. Anybody know if I can splice the wires using these?
Attached Images
 
peasantgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 06:37 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Help with electrical outlets?


Ok, I found that extender thing that I saw yesterday.
http://www.idealindustries.com/produ...ut_pigtail.jsp

Are these suitable for what I want to do?
Attached Images
 
peasantgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 06:42 PM   #19
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Help with electrical outlets?


The first bunch are permitted to be used in manufactured homes, such as yours.

Some folks call `em AMP connectors, others are TYCO/Raychem.

I'm not sure if you can get `em at your local home horror store, you might have to ask at an electrical wholesale house.

The second bunch are only to be used within an outlet or junction box.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 06:56 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Help with electrical outlets?


So the second one, the "pigtail extender", I COULD use it in the outlet box? I would push the cable through the tab, strip it and strip the wires and then attach each black wire and each white wire to an extender (for a total of 4) and the 2 ground wires I would only use one extender for both wires, right?

Ace Hardware carries the special boxes that I need (cheaper than amazon!), and I think a local electrical supply house has the pigtails. If someone could tell me if this would work, I'd be most grateful.

ETA: I'm looking at this picture, and I guess I don't need a separate extender for each black and white wire? One extender for 2 black wires, and one for the 2 white wires?

Last edited by peasantgirl; 10-17-2010 at 07:24 PM.
peasantgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 11:49 PM   #21
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Help with electrical outlets?


peasantgirl.,

Sorry for the misunderstood on the link but as I mention majorty of large big box store should have that type of offset juction box.

But it will be little tricky to slide in the wall so just trim it little bigger on the opening and make a 45 cut on one side only where the box go in that will help a bit.

With that distance of the cable you have it should able fit in there without issue but just get a proper tool to cut the conductor as KBsparky mention a 9 inch linesman pliler work very well.

And with that junction box you only have two cables so the only item you will need to pigtail is the grounding conductor { bare wire } the rest will able go on the screw on the recetpale without issue.

As you mention second photo about the pigtail extender that you need them to be inside the junciton box.

As far for the specail connector as KBsparky talk about and yeah it is legit only on finshed wall and fished in.
{I am not too crazy with that gimzo but I used as last resort }

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 09:35 AM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Help with electrical outlets?


Thanks for the reply. I'm going to Lowes for the pliers, so I will look for the box when I get there. They didn't show it online, though. I'll go to ACE if I have to.

I'll just get a couple of them, one to fix the wires I already cut, and one to try on an outlet with less wire. Wish me luck!

Thanks for all the advice, folks! Much appreciated!

peasantgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For stacked dryer/washer - where to locate electrical outlets and water supply lines Cliffhanger Electrical 3 09-05-2010 09:48 AM
repairing electrical outlets in old Plaster lath walls jjchips Carpentry 3 09-04-2010 10:20 PM
How to Fix Electrical Outlets That Don't Work limitdiy Electrical 11 08-08-2009 09:44 PM
Electrical - Outlets with no power jogan Electrical 5 05-05-2009 02:06 PM
Loose electrical outlets travishume Electrical 30 08-01-2008 07:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.