Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-18-2007, 11:02 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

help converting vltage


hi all, im living in the uk and will be purchasing a product from the us, i was wondering how or what i need to convert the power supply from usa to uk, i will be purchesing http://www.stealthhydroponics.com/pr...xProd=2&xSec=2 and it is wired for the N. American 110V/120V electrical standard, what do i need to make it work in the uk, any links or info would be much appreciated, im a bit dumb when it comes to electricity

dazboy121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2007, 10:42 AM   #2
Handyguy
 
Brik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SE PA
Posts: 803
Send a message via Skype™ to Brik
Default

help converting vltage


I do not see specs on the amp draw of the pump or lights. It should be minimal. Something like this should work for you.
http://www.220-electronics.com/Trans...s/stepdown.htm

Confirm the wattage of the pump and lights combine and then get the next largest transformer.

Brik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2007, 10:48 AM   #3
Handyguy
 
Brik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SE PA
Posts: 803
Send a message via Skype™ to Brik
Default

help converting vltage


One more thing. If you didn't want to call them and wanted to be absolutely sure there is NO WAY that this thing will draw more than 1500 watts (lights, pump and bubbler combined). So just get the 1500 watt transformer and be done with it. If I were to guess I would say a 500 watt would probably suffice though.

Oh, and if thats an electro-mechanical timer it likely will not work properly due to 50 versus 60 cycles. It will turn but just will be off 10 seconds per minute (slow).
Brik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2007, 02:46 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Default

help converting vltage


cheers Brik, that helps a lot, many thanks
dazboy121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2007, 03:20 PM   #5
I have gas!
 
Clutchcargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,770
Default

help converting vltage


You could always head to the local fish store (LFS) and just swap out the air pump and powerhead with ones that will work with your electricity.
Other than the nutrients and test kits there's nothing there that you can't DIY yourself in less than a couple of hours.
__________________
I tear things down and build them up.
Clutchcargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting a single pole switch to a 3 way Rze Electrical 7 09-13-2011 12:39 PM
Converting a single pole switch to a 3 way Rze Electrical 9 05-02-2011 10:10 AM
Advice on Converting Master Closet to 3/4 Bath Thirdeye Remodeling 9 02-13-2007 07:37 PM
converting coal boiler teresa17603 HVAC 6 10-25-2006 12:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.