Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-15-2007, 12:05 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 10
Share |
Default

Help on choosing an electrical box, please.


I want to hang a couple light fixtures in the bathroom.. The thing is i need to put a box in a pre-existing wall.. Any ideas on what kind of box i can use and how i should go about doing it? The wires already there from an old light but there is no box. I know how to wire it and everything i just dont know what box i should use and how i should put the box into a pre-existing wall. Thank you.
JeremyS04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2007, 02:41 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Default

Help on choosing an electrical box, please.


You need to purchase those box which clamp to drywall only but not the stud... the trick is to cut the hole on the drywall at the right size, too big, it won't clamp... too small, it won't fit.. has to be at a perfect size.... it has to be cut carefully.. mistake cannot be fixed... HD sell those boxes.... it's concept is like when you do the screwing the stuff behind the wall expand and clamp the device in place... why I know ... cause I did it before... except cut the hole too big... and the box is loosen up there (shaking)... and I don't bother fixing it as it is for the cable TV... not electricity...

Last edited by KUIPORNG; 08-15-2007 at 02:44 PM.
KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2007, 04:41 PM   #3
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,129
Default

Help on choosing an electrical box, please.


I have used the rework octagons before and i am not a fan of them. The ones I have used are only rated for 12 pounds. You will have to cut it perfect or it will not work.

Another option is to use a regular octagon with 2x4 on each side. Screw the 2x4 on the side of the ocatgon letting the octagon hang below the 2x4 by the thickness of your drywall. Do the same on the other side and then put the octagon in the whole and the 2x4 will hold it in place. This will probably only work if you have access from above, i.e an attic.

Hope this helps and makes sense

Darren
darren is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the ICC Electrical Code? Chuck Electrical 7 02-20-2013 10:19 AM
Electrical issues with home inspection toolmaan Electrical 20 08-10-2007 05:52 PM
Polarized plug light fixture- Hardwire to home electrical? timdavis3824 Electrical 3 07-09-2007 12:34 PM
got rid of kitchen island, how to get rid of the electrical wire from floor ckcrew Electrical 15 12-14-2006 09:45 AM
digging a trench for electrical...direction? Dusty Electrical 5 10-16-2006 02:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.