Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-31-2012, 06:38 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 74
Rewards Points: 87
Default

Help with cat5


Can someone help me here? I'm not sure what I need to do to connect this. Do I even have the right materials?

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Help with cat5-image-456606277.jpg  

andybeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 06:47 PM   #2
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 701
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Help with cat5


Are you trying to use this for telephone or data?

Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 06:58 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Help with cat5


Looks like a 4-line phone jack.

You need a CAT-5e data jack for computer LAN wiring
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 07:03 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,895
Rewards Points: 2,046
Default

Help with cat5


If you are using it for a single phone line, connect blue to red and white/blue stripe to green.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 07:16 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 74
Rewards Points: 87
Default

Help with cat5


Trying to use it for data. The female end on the plate is larger than a phone line and meant for data I believe.
andybeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 07:47 PM   #6
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,115
Rewards Points: 2,140
Default

Help with cat5


That is not a data jack. You need a RJ45.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 08:00 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 74
Rewards Points: 87
Default

Help with cat5


I don't mean to argue but I tried an Ethernet cable in the port and it fits. It also said on the package data/television.
andybeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 08:07 PM   #8
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,287
Rewards Points: 2,236
Default

Help with cat5


Used them before for data jacks, but not good if doing Gig speeds. Get some RJ-45 Keystones and plates and make it simple.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 08:42 PM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Help with cat5


Quote:
Originally Posted by andybeck View Post
I don't mean to argue but I tried an Ethernet cable in the port and it fits. It also said on the package data/television.
Just so you know. It will work, but it's a crap jack for data. A real RJ-45 would work much better.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 08:42 PM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Help with cat5


http://www.iplocation.net/tools/rj45-wiring.php

See the part labelled: RJ45 Color-Coded Scheme
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 08:46 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 74
Rewards Points: 87
Default

Help with cat5


Great, thanks all! I'll get one tomorrow and give it a shot.

andybeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it okay to splice "live" cat5? Tryvidy Electrical 8 02-13-2012 01:54 AM
Running cat5 wire over ventilation / heating ducting ajtool General DIY Discussions 7 06-11-2010 12:45 PM
cat5 timchi29 Electrical 7 07-26-2009 09:50 PM
Can I run CAT5 thru the electrical RMC? BradG Electrical 13 04-03-2009 11:31 AM
How to route cat5 & coax? radon Electrical 2 02-20-2008 02:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.