Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-24-2006, 10:21 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

HELP with Arc Fault Circuit Interruptors!


I may have a situation here, perh. you can help - I really didn't understand the workings of AFCI's and I think I need help here.

I ran a 12/3 romex (perfectly legal and code so far), with of course, a red, black, white and bare wire. As it turns out, I used the black wire to power all the plugs in a bedroom, and the red wire to handle the lights.

Now, the code is to have an AFCI for all plugs in a bedroom. BUT, an AFCI breaker is a different beast; instead of taking one wire, it has the common (white) wire pass through it as well, with that coiled white wire going to the common bus from the breaker itself.

OK, so for my remaining red wire, I hook that up to a standard 20A GE breaker, but what happens is that when I turn on the red wire circuit, the AFCI trips due - I guess - to an unbalance which the AFCI is detecting.

Is there any way to run an AFCI on a shared (2-wire) system like this, or must I run an AFCI on it's own circuit with a unique common? What is the way to solve this situation?

Thanks,
Samuel

samf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2006, 10:45 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

HELP with Arc Fault Circuit Interruptors!


Samf, I am not an electrician; however, to the best of my knowledge your set up won't work for the reason you have already stated. You are going to have to spit the circuits and run 2 12/2 with ground cables. Or, you are going to have to buy a double pole arc fault breaker (very pricey). If all of the cable is behind finished areas, you may want to just buy the breaker. I am not sure if G.E. makes a 20 amp double pole arc fault breaker ( I can't imagine that they don't). This would be the simplest solution, both circuits receive arc fault protection and would remain on different phases with the shared neutral. Good luck!

Manuel6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2006, 11:52 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,876
Rewards Points: 2,106
Default

HELP with Arc Fault Circuit Interruptors!


Two-pole AFCI breakers are available in BR style. I am not sure if they are rated for use in a GE panel. I know they will fit though. A two-pole costs about the same as two single poles.

A question though. Do you need AFCIs? Meaning does your area require them, or do you just want them?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2006, 11:56 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,918
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

HELP with Arc Fault Circuit Interruptors!


Sam: The code requires ALL bedroom outlets to be protected by AFCI's. As stated, You will have to remove the 12/3 and replace with 12/2, or abandon the red wire in your 12/3 and run a new 12/2, or tie your lights and outlets together, or buy a 2 pole AFCi breaker.

Since pete beat me to my response, his question is a valid one.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"

Last edited by jbfan; 11-24-2006 at 11:58 AM. Reason: Added info
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 04:34 PM
Loose electrical outlets travishume Electrical 30 08-01-2008 08:21 PM
Conflicting Circuit Info!?? BenBil Electrical 9 01-15-2007 09:26 AM
So lost - electrical requirements please help lapsis9 HVAC 4 12-20-2006 09:09 PM
Adding new circuit breakers to 100 amp sub panel DrP Electrical 8 05-25-2006 11:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.