Help Again - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2012, 11:29 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

help again


I want to install a new switch. The switch would control a porch light that is getting power from an inside fan now and is feeding a dusk to dawn light further out. How would I wire the switch? Does this make sense?

Advertisement

pipecreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 11:49 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,629
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

help again


Quote:
Originally Posted by pipecreek View Post
I want to install a new switch. The switch would control a porch light that is getting power from an inside fan now and is feeding a dusk to dawn light further out. How would I wire the switch? Does this make sense?

If it is a new switch, wire it the same as the old

Advertisement

hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 11:52 AM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

help again


Basically you would feed the switch and then take that power to the porch light you wish to turn on and off. Leave the dusk to dawn wired as it is now if you like.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 12:15 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,629
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

help again


Quote:
Originally Posted by pipecreek View Post
The switch would control a porch light that is getting power from an inside fan now
When you say "that is getting power from an inside fan now" do you mean the old switch is getting power from an inside fan now or the porch light is getting power from an inside fan now?

The diagram below shows power coming into the light location.

Ground wires not shown for ease of drawing.
Attached Thumbnails
help again-switch-loop.jpg  

Last edited by hammerlane; 10-08-2012 at 12:19 PM.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 06:31 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

help again


Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerlane View Post
When you say "that is getting power from an inside fan now" do you mean the old switch is getting power from an inside fan now or the porch light is getting power from an inside fan now?

The diagram below shows power coming into the light location.

Ground wires not shown for ease of drawing.
The current porch light is getting power from the fan. The fan is connected to a switch inside the house. The porch light is feeding another light (dusk-to-dawn) about 15 feet further out on top of the house. What I would like is to have the porch light controlled by a new switch that I would install myself. My question is: Where and what wires will be used on the new switch? White on top etc....
Thanks for you time.
pipecreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 06:54 PM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

help again


Are both the dusk to dawn light and the porch light only on when the switch for the fan is on?

If so, you will need to run power to the new switch location then run a new wire up to the porch light. The blacks would go to the switch. The whites would be spliced together and the grounds should be spliced together and pigtailed to the switch's ground screw.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 06:58 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,629
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

help again


Quote:
Originally Posted by pipecreek View Post
Where and what wires will be used on the new switch? .

The diagram in my previous post fits your situation exactly. The cable you run from the light fixture to the new switch is what is called a switch loop. See diagram or googla "switch loop"

On a single pole switch either conductor of the cable can go to either terminal of the switch.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 07:07 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

help again


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Are both the dusk to dawn light and the porch light only on when the switch for the fan is on?

If so, you will need to run power to the new switch location then run a new wire up to the porch light. The blacks would go to the switch. The whites would be spliced together and the grounds should be spliced together and pigtailed to the switch's ground screw.
Very new to this electric stuff. "how do I run power to the new switch location" with what I have already? What does "spliced together" mean?
Thanks K-Buz....
pipecreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 09:13 PM   #9
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

help again


Quote:
Originally Posted by pipecreek View Post
Very new to this electric stuff. "how do I run power to the new switch location" with what I have already? What does "spliced together" mean?
Thanks K-Buz....
Basically it means to twist the wires together and wire nut them.

What you might want to do since you are this new is hire a licensed electrician to do this job, 'watch and learn'.

Advertisement

Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts