Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-23-2008, 12:06 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help


Last night I spent several hours trying to install track lighting. Now i have now power to the front of my house and every time I turn on the switch the breaker jumps and the house goes dead.

Please help.

Velez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 01:09 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Help


Quote:
Originally Posted by Velez View Post
Last night I spent several hours trying to install track lighting. Now i have now power to the front of my house and every time I turn on the switch the breaker jumps and the house goes dead.

Please help.

You wired something wrong, can you take a picture of the wires?

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 01:11 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,000
Rewards Points: 502
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Help


Yet another post where some one didn't label/mark the wires and disconnected everything in the box. I will never understand why people think they need to disconnect every wire in the box just to change light fixtures or switches.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 03:41 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help


Wow, You're rude theatretch85. The house is from 1955 and everything fell apart when I opened it.
Velez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 03:43 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help


rgsgww thanks, that's a good idea. I did get the power back on. The only problem now, is every time I turn on the light switch the breaker jumps and shuts everything down. All the wires are old and most just have black tape on them. I can't really tell what colors they were. I will post some pictures soon. Thanks again for being so helpful.
Velez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 03:50 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Help


Quote:
Originally Posted by Velez View Post
rgsgww thanks, that's a good idea. I did get the power back on. The only problem now, is every time I turn on the light switch the breaker jumps and shuts everything down. All the wires are old and most just have black tape on them. I can't really tell what colors they were. I will post some pictures soon. Thanks again for being so helpful.

Thats kind of dangerous...I know how that fabric can be. You might just want to be safe and run new wire for that junction...

You must have a hot attached to your switch with a neutral...
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 03:50 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,000
Rewards Points: 502
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Help


Velez, Sorry I assumed this was like every other person coming here with this problem; they go to change a light fixture and rip apart all the wire connections in the box (instead of just the two that connect to the old fixture) and then wonder why it doesn't work when they put the new fixture in.

You probably have a switch loop that is shorting the incoming hot to the neutral, you'll have to open the switch up and figure out how its wired then find the switch wires in the light box.

The Hot power coming in should go through the switch, if its a switch loop one wire to the switch gets the Hot wire incoming, and the other goes directly to the light's black or hot conductor. Tie the neutral wires together in the fixture and that should take care of it.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 05:01 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Help


Thanks for the help. I will give it a shot. It looks like I have two clusters of wires (Black and White) coming into the box, with a third set coming in from another part of the house. I am told this would be the "Circuit" that everything in the front of the house is wired on.
Velez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 07:55 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Help


Quote:
Originally Posted by theatretch85 View Post
Yet another post where some one didn't label/mark the wires and disconnected everything in the box. I will never understand why people think they need to disconnect every wire in the box just to change light fixtures or switches.
I would have come to the same conclusion.
In any case, from the condition of the wires it sounds like Mr. Velez needs an electrician. Otherwise, the OP could try heat shrink tubing to get some more life out of the wire insulation.
They are probably also brittle.

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.