Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2010, 09:20 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Share |
Question

Help 30 amp Load center for my HID lights and miscellaneous


Hy everyone I will appreciate any help. I advise you I have just a little bit of knowledge with electricity. I have 4 extension cords running around my house plus I have kids, kids + extension cord = danger and lots of headache. I decide to build a load center the same one like the photo to get rid of all the extension cord. I found around the net a part list for make one of these load centers. Can you guys let me know if this list is missing parts or something is wrong before I spent my money? I want to plug it in a 30A dryer outlet. Im not going to use no more than 2200 watts from this load center, 1200w @ 240v, 1000w or less @ 120v formiscellaneous
Here's a parts list for a 30 Amp Load Center. I use the Siemens Q21525CT breaker. It's a quad/tandem breaker with two 25Amp breakers common trip. If you're using 4 - 1000W ballasts, the total amperage draw is around 18 amp, not including power on spike. This exceeds the 80% of a breakers load capacity. The two 15 amp breakers are for two constant 120V receptacles.

1 SIEMENS E0408ML1125SU or 1125FU Load Center
1 SIEMENS 45GG20AF 40 Amp DP Contactor
DEFINITE PURPOSE CONTACTOR: 2 POLE; 120/240/277/480/600 V; 40 AMPERE; RESISTIVE CURRENT 55 AMPERE; COIL VOLTAGE 110 V AT 50 HZ, 110 TO 120 V AT 60 HZ; APPROVAL UL, CSA, CE; 45 MODEL; LOCKED ROTOR RATING 240 AMPERE AT 277 V, 200 AMPERE AT 480 V, 160 AMPERE AT 600 V
1 SIEMENS Q21525CT
Description: QT, 15/25/25/15 Amp, QUAD Pole, 120/240 Volt, Molded Case Circuit Breakers from Siemens / ITE
1AUBE T1033 Timer info 2400W max 1HP@120v 20A
2 NEMA 6-15 240V Receptacles (Ballasts @ 240V)
2 2-Gang Boxes
2 2-Gang Box Covers
1 1-Gang Box (AUBE Timer)
6 Threaded Spacer Nippers (1/2)
12 BX Lock Nuts (1/2)
12 BX Bushings (1/2)
1 30 Amp Dryer Cord
12 AWG Hook-Up Wire (Constant 120V Receptacles)
10 AWG Hook-Up Wire (Ballast Receptacles)
10-12 AWG Terminal Lugs (Yellow)
Attached Images
 

Mont@n@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 09:30 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Help 30 amp Load center for my HID lights and miscellaneous


Where are you located ?

Very different outlets on the far right then what we see here
---if that is the type of outlet you want

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 10:04 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Help 30 amp Load center for my HID lights and miscellaneous


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Where are you located ?

Very different outlets on the far right then what we see here
---if that is the type of outlet you want
Illinois, those are 240v outlets. I want to keep 240v and replace the outlets with 120v outlets(5-15)@ 240v the one at the left are regular 120v...Thanks scuba V/r Mont@n@
Mont@n@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 10:07 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Help 30 amp Load center for my HID lights and miscellaneous


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mont@n@ View Post
Illinois, those are 240v outlets. I want to keep 240v and replace the outlets with 120v outlets(5-15)@ 240v the one at the left are regular 120v...Thanks scuba V/r
Then why does your IP track to the Middle East ?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 10:09 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Help 30 amp Load center for my HID lights and miscellaneous


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Then why does your IP track to the Middle East ?
I'm currentley deploy AIR FORCE UAE

Last edited by Mont@n@; 03-05-2010 at 10:36 PM. Reason: i can get in trouble for this info
Mont@n@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 11:00 PM   #6
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Help 30 amp Load center for my HID lights and miscellaneous


basically you are putting in a temporary system. There are a lot of limitations on such an installation and in most cases, it is simply illegal to install in a residence except for some very specific uses.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 07:11 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Wink

Help 30 amp Load center for my HID lights and miscellaneous


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
basically you are putting in a temporary system. There are a lot of limitations on such an installation and in most cases, it is simply illegal to install in a residence except for some very specific uses.
nap thanks for the warning. I do not want to build anything illegal. Thanks for everything guys. please support our troops
Mont@n@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 09:38 AM   #8
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,844
Default

Help 30 amp Load center for my HID lights and miscellaneous


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mont@n@ View Post
Illinois, those are 240v outlets. I want to keep 240v and replace the outlets with 120v outlets(5-15)@ 240v the one at the left are regular 120v...Thanks scuba V/r Mont@n@
I don't quite understand this statemet but please don't feed 125 volt receptacles with 240 volts.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 09:57 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Help 30 amp Load center for my HID lights and miscellaneous


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
I don't quite understand this statemet but please don't feed 125 volt receptacles with 240 volts.
Breaker info: Name SIEMENS Q21525CT
Description:
QT, 15/25/25/15 Amp, QUAD Pole, 120/240 Volt, Molded Case Circuit Breakers from Siemens / ITE
Mont@n@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 11:49 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Help 30 amp Load center for my HID lights and miscellaneous


Do you still need the dryer hook-up?
If not I'd pull it out & put a small sub panel in

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.