Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-28-2013, 04:06 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

HELP!! 3 way wiring for lights with 3 zones


Ok here is my scenario! 11 lights on one circuit split into 3 zones.

Zone 1 has power coming in and has a 3 way dimmer controlling 3 lights.

Zone 2 has power coming from the last light in Zone 1 to a 3 way dimmer controlling 4 lights.

Zone 3 has power coming from the last light in Zone 2, also to a 3 way dimmer controlling 4 lights.

All 11 lights are on a 15amp breaker, lights are 15w par30 led's.

I would like all 11 lights to turn on from Dimmer Switch in zone 1, but each dimmer switch will be controlling their own respective zones.

Will the way i wired it work? if not please advise.

Thank you.

BigSi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 04:19 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,750
Default

HELP!! 3 way wiring for lights with 3 zones


Dimmer 1 will control all the lights to what ever level you set, then the next dimer will never be any brighter than the first dimmer setting, and the last dimmer will never be any brighter than the second dimmer setting.

I would look into a self contained lighting control.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 07:08 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,472
Default

HELP!! 3 way wiring for lights with 3 zones


Where is the second three way dimmer?
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 07:25 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,454
Default

HELP!! 3 way wiring for lights with 3 zones


Yes and No !
With the current configuration,
the first dimmer will act as the master,
So its level will determine the overall
level of zones 2 & 3.
To get to work as you would like
ie individual control of three zones
you would have to reconfigure the wiring.
Zones 2 & 3 would need a power feed
that originates from before dimmer 1,
but after switch 1.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 07:57 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Default

HELP!! 3 way wiring for lights with 3 zones


dmxtothemax:

What suggestions do you have to rewire this to work, a friend said that adding a standard switch at the beginning might help?
BigSi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 08:03 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Default

HELP!! 3 way wiring for lights with 3 zones


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Where is the second three way dimmer?
It controls zone 2.

A more simplified scenario would be the following:

3 lights in a row with each light controlled by its own dimmer switch, a switch at the beginning is able to turn them all on or off.
BigSi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 08:31 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

HELP!! 3 way wiring for lights with 3 zones


I would look into the Leviton DHC (Decora Home Controls) or the Lutron programmable dimmers for this setup. Each dimmer would then get its own power input and you can get special controllers that can control all the lights in one central location (while still having remote control at the 3-way switch). I installed several of the Leviton DHC dimmers and 7 Scene controllers in my basement/wet bar and I love the setup! I have one scene setup for all lights on full for when I want it lit up in the basement.

Works great and I'd highly recommend it!
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 10:10 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,454
Default

HELP!! 3 way wiring for lights with 3 zones


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigSi View Post
dmxtothemax:

What suggestions do you have to rewire this to work, a friend said that adding a standard switch at the beginning might help?
Take a cable off the switched side of the first switch
(before the dimmer) run this wire as a hot to switch/dimmer2.

loop then take off as hot to switch/dimmer 3.

You might need an neutral and earth at each switch
to keep up to code.

dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Landscape wiring question: GFCI and Breaker Amp MikeInDetroit Electrical 0 11-02-2011 09:43 AM
Old wiring to new wiring Acworld34 Electrical 3 07-11-2011 10:00 AM
Concrobium and knob and tube wiring WillK Electrical 13 02-28-2011 12:17 PM
Cloth Wiring - Replace? JessicaGus Electrical 9 09-23-2009 06:45 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.