Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-10-2012, 09:47 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Help


I am going to upgrade from 100 to 200 amp service my current box is in My basement. When I upgrade the new service is going in the garage. Which is detached. I want to back feed 100 amps to the house. Is this possible and if so what do I need to make it happen

jclaytor77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 10:01 PM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,941
Default

Help


Quote:
Originally Posted by jclaytor77 View Post
I am going to upgrade from 100 to 200 amp service my current box is in My basement. When I upgrade the new service is going in the garage. Which is detached. I want to back feed 100 amps to the house. Is this possible and if so what do I need to make it happen
Call an electrician. just kidding, you need to run a conduit from the garage to the house... then you can just swap over the day you do your service at the garage. I would do as much prep work as possible so when the day comes, its an easy transition. I would complete the new service at the garage, have the wires pulled to the house, then have the power company disconnect the house, and re energize the garage, then you only have to re-feed the house and be back in business.


Remember though, you better check with your utility company first, and your building department to make sure everything is acceptable to what you want to do.


Last edited by stickboy1375; 07-10-2012 at 10:07 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
jclaytor77 (07-10-2012)
Old 07-10-2012, 11:41 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Help


What size wire do I need to feed the house. Do I just install 100 amp breaker in the new box and run wire from there. Also I have existing power in the garage. So I'm wondering if I can just reuse same wire to feed house. It would just be going the other direction
jclaytor77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 01:56 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 513
Default

Help


Also since your original panel is now a sub panel, you're going to have to separate the neutral / ground bonding.
I think you also have to remove the water pipe ground as well (if present)
If you have a whss you should move it to the new panel

I doubt that you have large enough conductors in the garage now to back feed the house. Are they overhead or underground?

Since you'll have new panel in garage, the feed from the house
panel will need to be killed.

Last edited by Evstarr; 07-11-2012 at 02:00 PM.
Evstarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 03:44 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 551
Default

Help


Quote:
Originally Posted by Evstarr View Post
...I think you also have to remove the water pipe ground as well (if present)
...
Since house and garage are detached I believe the house panel, now a sub panel, will require its own ground in addition to the raceway of ground wire coming from the garage main panel.

Point about eliminating the bond at the house panel is critical. If you don't know what that means then you should hire out this work to a licensed electrician.
curiousB is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to curiousB For This Useful Post:
Evstarr (07-11-2012)
Old 07-11-2012, 04:13 PM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

Help


You would need to leave the water bond but unbond the neutral and ground in the panel and make sure the water ground and ground rod(s) go to the ground bar and not the neutral bar.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
Evstarr (07-11-2012)
Old 07-11-2012, 04:38 PM   #7
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

Help


He will also have to drive in New grounding at the garage if its not in place. Odds are the wiring running from your house to your garage right now is nowhere near big enough to handle the new service unless you happen to have a 100a panel currently in the garage.

I mean this in the nicest possible way, but I think you may want help on this one from what I gathered from your earlier posts. If your hell bent on doing it yourself then kudos to you but make sure you educate yourself on what your getting into first. Your most likely looking at running new conduit from house to garage. Upgrading your meter base. Driving in new grounding. Also being as you will be refeeding the existing house panel that will need to be brought up to code as well as they will want to inspect it. The existing wiring in the garage will have to be rerouted into the new 200a panel as well.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 05:15 PM   #8
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,941
Default

Help


This is definitely a lot of work and knowledge on this project, not saying it can't be done, but I think its a lot to learn for a one time project.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 09:55 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 513
Default

Help


Lol. They sound like a bunch of downers! But they're going to help you as long as you ask reasoned questions and post pics and info requested along the way!

Aren't ya gang?
Evstarr is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Evstarr For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (07-12-2012)
Old 07-11-2012, 10:07 PM   #10
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

Help


This could take days . Really though i thought i WAS being helpfull, he's really going to have to do all that stuff. Although attempting to talk someone through an entire service upgrade and feeder remodel is appealing in the sense that i just want to see if it can be done. He'll be saying the same thing i did when i started the trade......"how is swinging a 10lb sledge at a copper rod and digging holes electrical work?"
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 11:24 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Help


Ok you have convinced me to seek help. Lol. I'm a union pipe fitter and welder. But I ain't no electrician. I just hate using favors til I have to.
jclaytor77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 11:32 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Help


I appreciate all the input from everyone sometimes what u want to hear and need to hear are different. I will get help for the change over. But will probably be back in a couple weeks when it's time to wire the pool and hot tub. Lol
jclaytor77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 03:27 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 119
Default

Help


The type of job you are describing would cost around $6800.00 here in Cal.
In experience, the monkey wants what the monkey sees.
If you call an honest electrician...you will, no doubt, find...that you [really] only need a fraction...of what you "think" you need - electrically speaking - of course.

Call the electrician out...and give him/her the scope of what you need...and let the trades do the rest.
kontoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 06:22 AM   #14
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

Help


There's a ton of brute work you can do on your own like the trench digging and conduit runs that can save you a ton of money and maybe a few favours too. If you've got friends in the trade that know what your house is like. Or can take a look at it and tell you what you need to do then you may be able to do it on your own. It's a lot easier to explain it when you have first hand knowledge of the work site.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.

Last edited by andrew79; 07-12-2012 at 06:25 AM.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 08:37 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 551
Default

Help


Quote:
Originally Posted by jclaytor77
I appreciate all the input from everyone sometimes what u want to hear and need to hear are different. I will get help for the change over. But will probably be back in a couple weeks when it's time to wire the pool and hot tub. Lol
Well since you are a pipe fitter you would surely be suited to put conduit together and dig a trench and any other labor intensive steps. Maybe you hire electrician for initial consult. He tells you where to mount new panel, conduit to use, trench route and depth, and wire to pull in the conduit. Then he can come in and connect it all up and ensure its proper.

curiousB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.