Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-12-2007, 10:33 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Share |
Default

Height of Receptacles?


Quote:
Originally Posted by sandyman720 View Post
I have a new addition with a powder room. I was told I need an exhaust fan.

I was thinking about mounting one on the wall since I have no room to run a vent since I have 2x4 ceiling joists and the ceiling buts up to a room above.

Is there any restriction on where the exhaust fan can be mounted?
How much deeper will the wall studs be? Another option is to put in one of those fans where the motor is at the exhaust point. This way you only need to install a vent grill in the bath.
Ron

Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 11:03 PM   #17
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,981
Default

Height of Receptacles?


You're not outdated till someone asks your wife if she has any antiques and she replies "just my husband".

As for receptacle box height, I mark all studs 16" top of box, and x the side I want, then I mount, this lets me see any location corrections before the box goes on.

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2007, 06:55 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 209
Default

Height of Receptacles?


Thanks guys.

In new construction when running a wire to a light that will be outside (like 2 lantern style lights on both sides outside of a sliding glass door); should a work box be used?

Siding will be on the exterior.

How do you normally do this?
sandyman720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2007, 02:37 PM   #19
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,801
Default

Height of Receptacles?


I don't know what a "work box" is but you do need some sort of box.

If it is vinyl I use these:
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2007, 03:05 PM   #20
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,539
Default

Height of Receptacles?


You can get those for Hardi siding also. I have started just leaving cable stuck out of the wall and adding the siding box/block after the siding is up.

HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 03:34 PM
gfci receptacles rjr Electrical 2 05-02-2007 07:16 PM
raising ceiling height during remodel marks Building & Construction 1 10-04-2006 01:58 PM
Joining laminate floors of different height. flyingmachine Flooring 5 09-13-2006 08:59 PM
Number of receptacles and size of wires KUIPORNG Electrical 5 06-28-2006 01:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.