Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-11-2007, 07:26 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 209
Share |
Default

Height of Receptacles?


How high off of the ground should receptacles be?

sandyman720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 08:39 AM   #2
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,508
Default

Height of Receptacles?


As high as you need them to be.

There is no set standard. I usually set general purpose receptacles at about 15in off the floor because that is my hammer height. Kitchen and bath are set at 46in, switch boxes are set at 48in and garage receptacles are set at 54in. That's my personal preference, not a standard.

HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 09:22 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 209
Default

Height of Receptacles?


Can you have a 15" receptacle in a bathroom? (for a vacum for example)
sandyman720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 09:26 AM   #4
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,508
Default

Height of Receptacles?


Quote:
Originally Posted by sandyman720 View Post
Can you have a 15" receptacle in a bathroom? (for a vacum for example)
As long as you have a receptacle within 36in of the outside of each sink and all the receptacles in the bathroom are GFCI protected, then yes.
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 10:15 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 209
Default

Height of Receptacles?


Does it matter if you have a receptacle in the same wall as a water line?
sandyman720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 10:33 AM   #6
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,508
Default

Height of Receptacles?


There is no restriction against placing the receptacle in the same wall as a water line.

The receptacle can not be inside the tub/shower area, it must be located within 36in of the edge of each basin, and it must be located on a wall or partition that is adjacent to the basin or basin countertop. It also must be a 20A dedicated circuit that supplies either just that bathroom (receptacle only, or with lights, vents) or only the receptacles in that and other bathrooms. The receptacles must be GFCI protected.
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 10:48 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 209
Default

Height of Receptacles?


I have a new addition with a powder room. I was told I need an exhaust fan.

I was thinking about mounting one on the wall since I have no room to run a vent since I have 2x4 ceiling joists and the ceiling buts up to a room above.

Is there any restriction on where the exhaust fan can be mounted?
sandyman720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 11:53 AM   #8
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,508
Default

Height of Receptacles?


As long as it vents to the outside, no.

One caveat: if it in the tub or shower area, it should be GFCI protected, but this is a powder room, so that doesn't apply.
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 01:44 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Default

Height of Receptacles?


Like someone else said, somewhere around 15inchs, use a hammer bout that size, works fast.

2x4 Floor joists??????? now that is scary!!!!
superjay5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 01:47 PM   #10
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,508
Default

Height of Receptacles?


Quote:
Originally Posted by superjay5 View Post
Like someone else said, somewhere around 15inchs, use a hammer bout that size, works fast.

2x4 Floor joists??????? now that is scary!!!!
I'm sure he means 2x4 ceiling joists butted up to the floor joists of the floor above.
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 02:05 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Default

Height of Receptacles?


I didn't use the standard when I renovating my basement... make them a somewhat higher as I was thinking I want not to bend down as much.... now it is done... cosmetic-wise speaking it is not as good... so I think the hammer height has its purpose: looks better!!!
KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 05:02 PM   #12
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,686
Default

Height of Receptacles?


Quote:
Originally Posted by sandyman720 View Post
How high off of the ground should receptacles be?
In an existing place I make them the same as all the others.
In a new build I use 16"ttt (to the top) of the box.
No offense, but I think "hammer height" is an outdated way of doing this. Plus, it is a dumb method unless every guy on the job uses the exact same hammer. Unless of course you only work alone.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 05:32 PM   #13
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Default

Height of Receptacles?


Everybody on Andy's crew swings a twenty oz. Estwing Even if I got to buy it for them its cheaper when I factor in time saved.
Ya reach down and set box on butt of hammer, remove hammer from underneath box, swing swiftly and you are DONE!
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 06:30 PM   #14
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,686
Default

Height of Receptacles?


Everyone is different.
I mark all the studs, then box everything out, then wire.
It is a VERY efficient system for me.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 07:18 PM   #15
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,508
Default

Height of Receptacles?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
... Unless of course you only work alone.
Yep, that's me. And I have been called outdated before...usually by my teenage daughters.

HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 03:34 PM
gfci receptacles rjr Electrical 2 05-02-2007 07:16 PM
raising ceiling height during remodel marks Building & Construction 1 10-04-2006 01:58 PM
Joining laminate floors of different height. flyingmachine Flooring 5 09-13-2006 08:59 PM
Number of receptacles and size of wires KUIPORNG Electrical 5 06-28-2006 01:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.