Heater Wiring And Breaker Size Question - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-24-2009, 02:56 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 137
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Heater wiring and breaker size question


I have an electric heater I want to install in my garage. It says 208/240 volts, 1phase, 0.22 amps, 60hz. I'm just confused because it says 0.22 amps, not 22 amps. Does this mean it draws 22 amps and I need a 30 amp breaker with #10 wire?

Also, is this any kind of timer switch that could be used with this? I want something like in the picture below. The only ones I can find are 110v.
Attached Thumbnails
Heater wiring and breaker size question-timer.jpg  

Advertisement

Tmb9862 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 03:01 PM   #2
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Heater wiring and breaker size question


You will need to check the rating carefully. What is the output rating of this unit? Seems like a 2P30 requirement would be likely. The switch needs to be rated to handle the same rating. You can use a 110V switch to break only one leg to the heater, but some local codes do prohibit this.

Advertisement

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 03:07 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 137
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Heater wiring and breaker size question


Their isn't much more information then I gave on it. It has an area for minimum supply circuit ampacity but the area is left blank. It has a section saying "Controls" 208-240 V.A.C, 1PH, 60hz
Tmb9862 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 03:10 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Heater wiring and breaker size question


Yeah, I think they mean 22 amps - how many watt heater? Does it have a plug or hardwired - if plug you can tell from the plug.

I just went through installing very similar in my workshop/garage. Mine was 5600 watts / 24 amps so I installed a 30 amp breaker and #10 wire with a 30 amp double pole wall switch to turn it on/off.

I also wanted a countdown timer switch as you depict, but was unable to find one to handle to 30 amps (Intermatic does have 240 volt but lower amps, and with time to 6 hours). Suggested was to install a contactor (relay) to power the heater and activate the contactor with countdown timer now with the lower current requirement. I have not figured out the bits and pieces to do this - was also suggested to go to a electrical supply to get what is needed.

Last edited by vsheetz; 12-24-2009 at 03:14 PM.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 03:16 PM   #5
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Heater wiring and breaker size question


you can find a timer to handle this at www.smarthome.com
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 03:24 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Heater wiring and breaker size question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Mariani View Post
you can find a timer to handle this at www.smarthome.com

I had looked there before, and just did again. I don't see a double pole with 30 amp capacity - I do see a single pole 20 amp (http://www.smarthome.com/4255W/Multi...6260M-W/p.aspx)
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 04:02 PM   #7
CodeEnforcer
 
HIVOLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 125
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Heater wiring and breaker size question


FD60MWC Intermatic this switch can be used on electric heater because it will not be running continuously.
HIVOLT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 04:31 PM   #8
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Heater wiring and breaker size question


try calling.. May not be posted on the site.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 05:20 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Heater wiring and breaker size question


Quote:
Originally Posted by HIVOLT View Post
FD60MWC Intermatic this switch can be used on electric heater because it will not be running continuously.
That switch is rated at 240 volt 10 amp and is single pole - help me understand how can this can work or be ok for this application?

Here is a link to all such countdown timers at Intermatic - there are a few that are double pole, but 240 volt 10 amp max.
http://www.intermatic.com/products/t...%20timers.aspx
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 07:20 PM   #10
CodeEnforcer
 
HIVOLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 125
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Heater wiring and breaker size question


You are correct I posted the wrong catalog number. You would nee a DPST timer which is FF412H Intermatic. Although it is rated at 10A it will work.
HIVOLT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2009, 08:14 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Heater wiring and breaker size question


Quote:
Originally Posted by HIVOLT View Post
You are correct I posted the wrong catalog number. You would nee a DPST timer which is FF412H Intermatic. Although it is rated at 10A it will work.
I still need help in understanding how a 10 amp capacity timer/switch can be used in a 30 amp circuit?
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 10:04 AM   #12
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Heater wiring and breaker size question


Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
I still need help in understanding how a 10 amp capacity timer/switch can be used in a 30 amp circuit?
It won't - at least not for very long.
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 04:27 PM   #13
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Heater wiring and breaker size question


Quote:
Originally Posted by HIVOLT View Post
You are correct I posted the wrong catalog number. You would nee a DPST timer which is FF412H Intermatic. Although it is rated at 10A it will work.
IIRC Intermatic did not have legit 20 or 30 amp double pole timer at all.


Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
I still need help in understanding how a 10 amp capacity timer/switch can be used in a 30 amp circuit?
It will work but you will burn up the timer no question ask due the timer is rated for 10 amp at 240 volts so try run 22 amp thru the timer you will burn up the concats due the timer is rated for 2400 watts and you are try to run 5,280 watts thru that timer and it will burn up pretty fast.

Really you can use standard timer and get a high current relay or contractor that should take care all the issue you are facing it.

Merci,Marc

Advertisement

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recessed lights, wiring, breaker buzzing, etc diyguy999 Electrical 3 12-21-2009 02:10 PM
Quick wiring question with HVAC Gjtrafl Electrical 4 06-25-2009 03:03 PM
wiring a 240V baseboard heater 777 Electrical 10 05-17-2009 11:47 AM
Wiring to a water heater bvsmith_1974 Electrical 3 09-03-2008 04:32 AM
Breaker question mrsql Electrical 11 02-21-2008 05:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts