Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-02-2009, 11:58 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Share |
Question

heat pump install wiring question


Hi All,

I am required to supply pig tails for my new heat pump and air handler/heat strips. I have done all the wiring in my home, but this one is perplexing.

The length of the wire run from the box is about 70' to the air handler with the 15kw heat strips. The heat pump is about 70' also.

The heat pump calls for a minimum branch circuit ampacity of 28 amps, but minimum circuit breaker protection rating of 40 and a max brkr of 45 amps.

The air handler/heat strips requires 2 circuits with one providing power to the air handler itself. It lists a heater amps per circuit of 40/24. So, it calls for minimum circuit ampacity of 55/30 with a maximum overload protection of 60/30.

So, I am trying to figure out what the minimum gage wire for each of the three circuits. It is all inside my residence. Also, what size breakers should I install?

Thanks alot for you knowledge.

fireman0175 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 12:12 AM   #2
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

heat pump install wiring question


If you are using nonmetallic type cable, i.e. "romex", then you have all the info you need. For the heat pump, the min. circuit ampacity is 28 A, so you need a wire capable of carrying at least that. 10-2 is sufficient. A max circuit size of 45 A means you can use a breaker large as 45 A, but no less than 40 A. Since this is a residence, I'd probably use 8-2 with a 40 A breaker.

On the air handler, it says you need two circuits, one capable of carrying at least 55 A, and another of at least 30 A. So, 6-2 and 10-2 respectively. Breaker sizes are 60 A (because there are no 55 A breakers available) and 30 A. Don't for get to provide a disconnect for all your circuits local to the equipment.

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to test apartment Heat Pump tbrubes HVAC 7 02-04-2009 03:05 PM
Easy Heat Pump Question brutis HVAC 6 11-03-2008 10:06 AM
Wiring help - Honeywell Thermostat w/ Carrier Heat Pump Tom Williams HVAC 7 09-14-2008 07:40 AM
Testing FuelMaster 21 Module? Heat Pump no Run. thehotrod11 HVAC 3 12-29-2007 02:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.