Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-18-2009, 05:35 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,590
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Have you seen a REAL "rat's nest" wiring job??!!


In the photo you posted it appears that the breakers at the bottom right are the slim breakers that you will need to use to get 40. Those on the left appear to be the full size breakers.

jogr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 05:39 PM   #17
Member
 
perpetualjon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Have you seen a REAL "rat's nest" wiring job??!!


Ok, so the slim breakers just make it a more dense wiring job? Are there any issues with reliability or amperage limitations with using these breakers over the full size ones? I can do dense wiring just fine --but I'd rather not deal with bad hardware if in the long run it would be a bad choice...
perpetualjon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 06:29 PM   #18
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Have you seen a REAL "rat's nest" wiring job??!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by perpetualjon View Post
Ok, so the slim breakers just make it a more dense wiring job? Are there any issues with reliability or amperage limitations with using these breakers over the full size ones? I can do dense wiring just fine --but I'd rather not deal with bad hardware if in the long run it would be a bad choice...

Slims / tandems are often very expensive$$$$$$.
Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 06:42 PM   #19
Member
 
perpetualjon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Have you seen a REAL "rat's nest" wiring job??!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
Slims / tandems are often very expensive$$$$$$.
Jamie
Am I not looking at the correct parts then? Here's an auction for 6 20-amp breakers for $42 shipped on eBay. They seem fairly reasonable to me...
perpetualjon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 07:12 PM   #20
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Have you seen a REAL "rat's nest" wiring job??!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by perpetualjon View Post
Am I not looking at the correct parts then? Here's an auction for 6 20-amp breakers for $42 shipped on eBay. They seem fairly reasonable to me...
That an e-bay auction. I would never buy breakers off of e-bay. There have been numerous problems with counterfeit breakers in recent years. I would only purchase them from authorized retail chanels (home depot, menards, lowes, electrical supply houses).

Your talking about spending $7 per breaker for low end breakers from a unkown source.

Top of the line QO or CH breakers only sell for around $6 each at the big box stores.

Breakers for Homeline panels that are what would be more equivalent (imo) to the class of panel you have sell for about $2.50 at home depot.

Brand new Brand name panels from authorized dealers are so reasonable, I would just pick up a new 40 or 42 space panel. They sell them in combo packs that come with a number of breakers that are an even better deal....

Just some things to think about
Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 12:18 AM   #21
Member
 
perpetualjon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Have you seen a REAL "rat's nest" wiring job??!!


Thanks for your input there jamiedolan, that helps out a lot. I haven't actually priced breakers at a retail store so I didn't realize that their prices were so reasonable...

Here's a shot from the inside of the rat's nest that was brewing at the bottom of the panel:


Here's the top of the panel from the inside. You can see the type of wiring used in the original installation:


Here's some of the runs that were originally installed inside the tiny attic space:


...And here's my favorite! This is a closeup of what was actually MANY instances where original beams and galvanized ductwork above would sandwich the wiring in between. So you had wood, metal, vibration, and electrical all meeting in one place. It's a wonder this place never went up in smoke!!
perpetualjon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 07:25 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Have you seen a REAL "rat's nest" wiring job??!!


How are the rats getting in?

The wire and duct really inst that bad, though, I don't like that the wire isn't secured for so long.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 09:09 AM   #23
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Have you seen a REAL "rat's nest" wiring job??!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by perpetualjon View Post
Thanks for your input there jamiedolan, that helps out a lot. I haven't actually priced breakers at a retail store so I didn't realize that their prices were so reasonable...

Here's a shot from the inside of the rat's nest that was brewing at the bottom of the panel:


Here's the top of the panel from the inside. You can see the type of wiring used in the original installation:


Here's some of the runs that were originally installed inside the tiny attic space:


...And here's my favorite! This is a closeup of what was actually MANY instances where original beams and galvanized ductwork above would sandwich the wiring in between. So you had wood, metal, vibration, and electrical all meeting in one place. It's a wonder this place never went up in smoke!!
If it were me, I'd get all those wires clean up / replace and rerouted or at least stapled, so they are more secure.

Even In the attic, we don't leave any wires exposed, we drill holes for everything and run it in the joists. Much cleaner.

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 11:13 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Have you seen a REAL "rat's nest" wiring job??!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
Even In the attic, we don't leave any wires exposed, we drill holes for everything and run it in the joists. Much cleaner.

Jamie
My house has it all running over the joist.

If its just a 20 ft length I just run it over the joists.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 11:19 AM   #25
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Have you seen a REAL "rat's nest" wiring job??!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
My house has it all running over the joist.

If its just a 20 ft length I just run it over the joists.
We used alot of the old hole from K&T. But I still drilled a number of them. The makita drills did most of the work, Makita flashlights where great too. All the Makita stuff and there batteries took one heck of a beating on this project, and they are all still living to tell the tale. But I don't think the batteries are as prime as they once where. I only had to whip out larger 1/2" rip your arm off drills two or three times....

Jamie

BTW. The makita flashlights are tought as they get. I droped one from the attic into the bathroom about 6 feet, it nailed the top of the toilet seat, cracked the heck out of it, the Makita flashlight was fine, even the bulb. When the power is you, the Makita flashlight are great.
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 11:24 AM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Have you seen a REAL "rat's nest" wiring job??!!


Sounds like great products, gonna check them out right now.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 11:31 AM   #27
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Have you seen a REAL "rat's nest" wiring job??!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
Sounds like great products, gonna check them out right now.
This is the one I have:
Name:  6390DWPLE_L.jpg
Views: 619
Size:  33.6 KB


This is the new one they came out with, much longer battery life, more power, etc. But they are $300.
Name:  BHP452HW_400.jpg
Views: 639
Size:  37.0 KB

All can be seen on:

http://www.makita.com/en-us/Modules/...t.aspx?CatID=4

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 12:07 AM   #28
Member
 
perpetualjon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Have you seen a REAL "rat's nest" wiring job??!!


Yeah, well I'm getting rid of ALL the wiring eventually. I've already planned on a complete tear-down of the entire house to the studs so we're going to have plenty of opportunity to do it right. Thanks for all the comments everyone!!
perpetualjon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 01:29 PM   #29
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 359
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Have you seen a REAL "rat's nest" wiring job??!!


Hey Jon,

Looking at your old zinsco panel, it looks like a 30 amp single pole breaker in there about in the middle towards the left side. What the heck is that for?

Just curious.

Looks like you have a heck of a project there. I'd be a little leery about digging around in the rat's nest. It it still active?
junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2009, 02:45 PM   #30
Member
 
perpetualjon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Have you seen a REAL "rat's nest" wiring job??!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by junkcollector View Post
Hey Jon,

Looking at your old zinsco panel, it looks like a 30 amp single pole breaker in there about in the middle towards the left side. What the heck is that for?
My guess is that it's the feed to the detached garage that runs underground through a conduit to the opposite corner of the property.

Quote:
Looks like you have a heck of a project there. I'd be a little leery about digging around in the rat's nest. It it still active?
Oh yea, it's still active! I'm living in the house right now. You can be sure I'm going to be VERY leery working around this thing but I'm determined to get my house in tip top shape over the next few years --and this is all doable! I'll be sure to keep you all informed on the progress...

perpetualjon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring diagram for three-way switches with pilot light SaxTeacher Electrical 34 09-15-2013 07:53 AM
New Home Wiring - Seeking Expert Advice Dirtrnr Electrical 3 02-10-2009 10:33 AM
Replacing wiring in middle of run, ungrounded lighting circuit alexz Electrical 3 07-05-2007 08:53 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM
Garage - Protecting wiring installation eastment Electrical 4 11-26-2005 11:52 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.