Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-18-2009, 12:40 AM   #1

Share |

Have you seen a REAL "rat's nest" wiring job??!!

This is my awful breaker box. I have already taken out the drywall on the back side and had even MORE rat's nesting on the inside of the wall below this panel. I have plans to turn this into just where the meter sits and then move to a new breaker panel INSIDE the house somewhere where rodents won't plan on building their dream house!! I'm pretty sure the panel is from the 1950's but I'm no electrical expert...
perpetualjon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 12:50 AM   #2

Here's the panel I picked up to become the primary breaker panel in my house. I hope I did good! My plan is to set up this panel as a subpanel and then slowly re-wire each room until there are no breakers on the old panel outside. Am I doing good so far?

Old 02-18-2009, 07:10 AM   #3

Siemens is a good brand. You can slowly rewire, but I would just get rid of that zinsco (old panel) asap. They fail alot.

How is your house wired, by romex or bx?
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 07:54 AM   #4
Res Ipsa Loquitur

That box looks so messy it almost doesn't seem live! Regarding Siemens, I just installed mine- I like the ease of install although I went with the 200 amp 40/40 since I wanted full size breakers. The Siemens is easy to use, laid out well, and appears sturdy.
Old 02-18-2009, 08:20 AM   #5

Send a message via AIM to theatretch85

Quote:
Originally Posted by handyman78 View Post
That box looks so messy it almost doesn't seem live! Regarding Siemens, I just installed mine- I like the ease of install although I went with the 200 amp 40/40 since I wanted full size breakers. The Siemens is easy to use, laid out well, and appears sturdy.