Has Anybody Ever Seen Something Like This? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2012, 12:44 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Has anybody ever seen something like this?


Has anyone seen something like this?





I think my brother is trying to either electrocute the whole house/me or cause me severe confusion via electric current

I apologize for the bad pictures, they are from a video I took of the thing....it has been going on 8 months and yesterday I found this all

Advertisement

allsystemsgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 12:45 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default




this pics a bit better

Advertisement

allsystemsgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 12:52 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default




allsystemsgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 01:05 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central Coast, Cali
Posts: 105
Rewards Points: 75
Default


If you're asking about that little metal box with phone cord attached to it, that's just a low voltage transformer that's probably powering your doorbell or something. It has nothing to do with electrocuting you or your house. Similarly, it should not cause you severe confusion and I'm concerned as to why you hold that belief.
LooseSCruz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 01:12 AM   #5
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 706
Rewards Points: 510
Default


The device attached to the box with the keyless socket is a typical doorbell transformer, the other pictures are not clear enough to make out.
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 01:37 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default


The doorbell idea makes sense, but shouldn't it be closer to the doorbell? This is the basement and there are no doorbells down here...I am going to get better pics of all the wiring, sorry they suck atm. But truly thank you for your replies to this.
allsystemsgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 07:31 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 7,760
Rewards Points: 3,626
Default


The light fixture might have been the most convenient source of 120 volt power for the doorbell transformer.

Are the two cables entering the metal junction box with the transformer clamped down inside so they can't touch the sharp edges of the box holes?
__________________
Tornado victims: Do not rush to rebuild. Take your time and look for and get a good contractor. Or consider selling the property and moving to a home that is ready to live in.

Last edited by AllanJ; 05-27-2012 at 07:33 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 07:46 AM   #8
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,655
Rewards Points: 2,970
Default


Its a doorbell transformer, the reason it's usually located in the basement is because when roughing in, its much easier to have one wire at each door button location and chime, so the splice, is made in the basement to make it all work... thats the mess next to the panel...


I personally would have just installed the transformer at the panel, but to each his own.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 11:49 AM   #9
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 10,097
Rewards Points: 7,486
Blog Entries: 2
Default


Shouldn't there be strain relief clamps on those Romex wires going into the metal box? Otherwise, those nice sharp edges might cut through the insulation over time.
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 12:25 PM   #10
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,655
Rewards Points: 2,970
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
Shouldn't there be strain relief clamps on those Romex wires going into the metal box? Otherwise, those nice sharp edges might cut through the insulation over time.
Internal clamp.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 12:26 PM   #11
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,655
Rewards Points: 2,970
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
Shouldn't there be strain relief clamps on those Romex wires going into the metal box? Otherwise, those nice sharp edges might cut through the insulation over time.
Internal clamp is provided.


Last edited by stickboy1375; 05-27-2012 at 01:21 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 01:27 PM   #12
Retired from the grind
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652
Default


Yep, see them all of the time. Nothing unusual about that little transformer and wire.

Advertisement

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1