Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-27-2012, 12:44 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Has anybody ever seen something like this?


Has anyone seen something like this?





I think my brother is trying to either electrocute the whole house/me or cause me severe confusion via electric current

I apologize for the bad pictures, they are from a video I took of the thing....it has been going on 8 months and yesterday I found this all

allsystemsgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 12:45 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Has anybody ever seen something like this?




this pics a bit better

allsystemsgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 12:52 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Has anybody ever seen something like this?




allsystemsgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 01:05 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Central Coast, Cali
Posts: 105
Default

Has anybody ever seen something like this?


If you're asking about that little metal box with phone cord attached to it, that's just a low voltage transformer that's probably powering your doorbell or something. It has nothing to do with electrocuting you or your house. Similarly, it should not cause you severe confusion and I'm concerned as to why you hold that belief.
LooseSCruz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 01:12 AM   #5
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 700
Default

Has anybody ever seen something like this?


The device attached to the box with the keyless socket is a typical doorbell transformer, the other pictures are not clear enough to make out.
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 01:37 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Has anybody ever seen something like this?


The doorbell idea makes sense, but shouldn't it be closer to the doorbell? This is the basement and there are no doorbells down here...I am going to get better pics of all the wiring, sorry they suck atm. But truly thank you for your replies to this.
allsystemsgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 07:31 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,932
Default

Has anybody ever seen something like this?


The light fixture might have been the most convenient source of 120 volt power for the doorbell transformer.

Are the two cables entering the metal junction box with the transformer clamped down inside so they can't touch the sharp edges of the box holes?
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 05-27-2012 at 07:33 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 07:46 AM   #8
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,937
Default

Has anybody ever seen something like this?


Its a doorbell transformer, the reason it's usually located in the basement is because when roughing in, its much easier to have one wire at each door button location and chime, so the splice, is made in the basement to make it all work... thats the mess next to the panel...


I personally would have just installed the transformer at the panel, but to each his own.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 11:49 AM   #9
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,069
Default

Has anybody ever seen something like this?


Shouldn't there be strain relief clamps on those Romex wires going into the metal box? Otherwise, those nice sharp edges might cut through the insulation over time.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 12:25 PM   #10
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,937
Default

Has anybody ever seen something like this?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
Shouldn't there be strain relief clamps on those Romex wires going into the metal box? Otherwise, those nice sharp edges might cut through the insulation over time.
Internal clamp.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 12:26 PM   #11
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,937
Default

Has anybody ever seen something like this?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
Shouldn't there be strain relief clamps on those Romex wires going into the metal box? Otherwise, those nice sharp edges might cut through the insulation over time.
Internal clamp is provided.


Last edited by stickboy1375; 05-27-2012 at 01:21 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 01:27 PM   #12
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,023
Default

Has anybody ever seen something like this?


Yep, see them all of the time. Nothing unusual about that little transformer and wire.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.