Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-18-2008, 08:21 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Hardwired Smoke detector wiring


Most jurisdictions require 14/2 from a 15A circuit to the first detector then 14/3 to each one in the chain beyond. While they need far less current than this circuit would provide, I was told the practical reason for this was the difficulty of finding 5 amp breakers to protect lighter wire- and also if you take the feed from a lighting circuit the wire size must match. Sounds reasonable to me.
What would make more sense (since I dont believe the Smoke detectors use the gound) is to allow 14/2 wire (w/ ground)to interconnect them using the ground wire for the 5V /low current signal leg. (Perhaps taping this bare wire red or yellow). Does anyone know if this would meet code?

BTW- Biloxi MS requires 12/3 for the smoke circuit! Go figure.

whisper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2008, 08:41 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,795
Rewards Points: 22
Default

Hardwired Smoke detector wiring


Using the bare ground wire for anything other than the ground is not legal.
Do it the proper way and run the 3 cable between the smokes.
You are not the only one that is required to use #12 wire. I can't use #14 for anything!

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 05:46 AM   #3
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Hardwired Smoke detector wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by whisper View Post
What would make more sense (since I dont believe the Smoke detectors use the gound) is to allow 14/2 wire (w/ ground)to interconnect them using the ground wire for the 5V /low current signal leg. (Perhaps taping this bare wire red or yellow). Does anyone know if this would meet code?

That ground is the fault path if there are any problems with that circuit. Just because a smoke detector doesn't connect to it doesn't mean it isn't necessary.
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Smoke Detector, Intermittent Chirping Rod Electrical 18 02-23-2008 06:46 PM
Masons: Smoke Shelf removal? BarryKaraoke HVAC 4 01-12-2008 06:31 PM
Hardwired Smoke Detector question NateHanson Electrical 18 11-10-2007 08:10 PM
GFCI and Smoke alarm circuit issues 00u6166 Electrical 9 10-30-2007 02:41 PM
12 Smoke Alarms sootybuttercup Electrical 8 09-19-2006 08:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.