Hardwired Fire Alarms Testing Themselves? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2008, 10:46 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Hardwired Fire Alarms testing themselves?


Hi...I've had these fire alarms hardwired through-out the house for maybe 11-12 years. I don't have one in the kitchen, and I've never had a problem with them.
Went to bed last night, and just when I had nodded-off, the whole house went off, like someone pushed all the test buttons at once. It lasted long enough for me to say: "What The ****!" and then it ended.
Nothing unusual, nothing since, not a hot night, every thing as usual???
Any ideas?
Thanks
Lisa

Advertisement

zoeymae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 03:49 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Hardwired Fire Alarms testing themselves?


Are these fire detectors of the 'smoke detector' type?
If so they could be near the end of their life span and need replacing!
There are also what are known as 'rate of rise' detectors. Similar to a thermostat, they become activated by temperature.
After 11 years it may be prudent to replace these, if this is what you have.

Advertisement

Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 06:30 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Hardwired Fire Alarms testing themselves?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildie View Post
Are these fire detectors of the 'smoke detector' type?
If so they could be near the end of their life span and need replacing!
There are also what are known as 'rate of rise' detectors. Similar to a thermostat, they become activated by temperature.
After 11 years it may be prudent to replace these, if this is what you have.
Hi Wildie, thanks for your reply.
They are made by Kiddie, models: 1235, 440479
It says Smoke and Fire Alarm, then under that it says: "A.C. Wire-in Single and/or Multiple Station (24 Devices) Ionization Smoke Alarm.
Hmmmm...I have one of these in my basement, which is also my wood shop. I've been sanding and sawing down there forever, but I recently started re-building a huge kitchen window that I couldn't get down to the basement so I did some sanding on the round-top etc. upstairs. Would the sanding cause that? If so, I can't understand why the one in the basement isn't totally wasted.
zoeymae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 06:29 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 356
Rewards Points: 256
Default

Hardwired Fire Alarms testing themselves?


Quote:
Originally Posted by zoeymae View Post
Hi Wildie, thanks for your reply.
They are made by Kiddie, models: 1235, 440479
It says Smoke and Fire Alarm, then under that it says: "A.C. Wire-in Single and/or Multiple Station (24 Devices) Ionization Smoke Alarm.
Hmmmm...I have one of these in my basement, which is also my wood shop. I've been sanding and sawing down there forever, but I recently started re-building a huge kitchen window that I couldn't get down to the basement so I did some sanding on the round-top etc. upstairs. Would the sanding cause that? If so, I can't understand why the one in the basement isn't totally wasted.
After 10 or 12 years the smoke alarms have reached the end of their life cycle. Replace them. The smoke alarm upstairs may have tripped because of the dust. The smoke alarm in the basement may be completly plugged with sawdust.
fireguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 07:32 PM   #5
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Hardwired Fire Alarms testing themselves?


Your smokes are overdue for replacement. Most manufacturers recommend 6 to 10 years.

You might want to consider smoke/carbon monoxide combos.
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 08:48 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Hardwired Fire Alarms testing themselves?


Well....CRAP! Why doesn't anything last forever anymore? I do Carbon Monoxide sensors; 2 of them. One within the last 3 years, the other is "Iffy".
I think I read in an earlier post that the Ionization ones were for clean rooms?

Thanks All for your posts
zoeymae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2008, 09:31 AM   #7
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Hardwired Fire Alarms testing themselves?


Quote:
Originally Posted by zoeymae View Post
Well....CRAP! Why doesn't anything last forever anymore?
Well, speaking just on the smokes, dust.
And besides, for life safety, I simply want to be sure that they will function when, God forbid, they need to.

Quote:
Thanks All for your posts
You are welcome.

Advertisement

__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
why wouldn't circuit breaker prevent fire? fauer Electrical 26 11-28-2008 09:38 PM
fire protection JustJoe Building & Construction 10 01-27-2007 08:45 AM
Hard wired fire alarms keeping going off sdgoss Electrical 6 11-09-2005 09:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts