Hardwire Undercabinet Lighting? - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-21-2009, 04:37 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cedar Park, Texas
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Hardwire undercabinet lighting?


I did this recently. I had standard 3 prong electrical outlets inside the cabinets. One was there for the microwave and another for the refrigerator. I plugged the puck lights into the outlets and bought a puck shaped touch sensitive dimmer switch that I put in the corner under the cabinets. Nothing can be seen at eye level, but you know where the dimmer is.

Very easy and it is to code.

Advertisement

TexasEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 04:42 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cedar Park, Texas
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Hardwire undercabinet lighting?


This is what I used:

http://www.lowes.com/lowes/lkn?actio...HCL&lpage=none
TexasEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 06:56 PM   #18
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,040
Rewards Points: 2,878
Default

Hardwire undercabinet lighting?


The Ambiance LV cable is not for use in the wall. You would need to use a Chapter 3 wiring method like NM-B in the walls and transition to the LV cable.

I am not sure why the inspector is ok with LV cables in the walls.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 01:31 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,002
Rewards Points: 506
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Hardwire undercabinet lighting?


I just finished the rough-in for the under cabinet lighting. I bought a 500' spool of 14/2 install rated low voltage security/speaker wire and routed this to all the cabinet locations with a home run to the under-sink cabinet where I will mount the transformer(s). Total of 4 individual runs, 1 or 2 of them may have 2 lights, but otherwise it will be one light per run.

My thought is to use plug-in type transformers but I installed a 4" metal j-box with a single gang metal mud-ring so that I could attach a single gang cover plate with the 1/2" knockout and transition to flex conduit to connect a hard-wired transformer if I choose to do so, otherwise I will just install an outlet.

I did NOT drill the holes in the Sheetrock for the wires yet, but I know exactly where the wires are in the walls and left plenty of slack, I'll just drill the holes just above the bottom edge of the cabinet before I hang the cabinets and then pull the wire out of the wall. Figured this was the best idea in terms of painting and with the location of the bottom of the cabinet potentially being different.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 02:29 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Hardwire undercabinet lighting?


I would recommend low voltage LED puck lights... Easy to install, run cool, last a long long time.

Advertisement

vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Undercabinet lighting power source? Ideas? PDubs Electrical 7 01-28-2009 05:37 AM
Undercabinet lighting: What would you use? Karde Electrical 3 01-04-2009 11:26 AM
lighting a covered, enclosed patio (cross-posted in electrical) 1655graff Remodeling 1 11-21-2007 01:45 PM
lighting a covered, enclosed patio 1655graff Electrical 5 11-21-2007 09:06 AM
Undercabinet lighting spacing wbjdmd Electrical 3 11-12-2006 09:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts