Hardwire Range Hood And Only Have Outlet - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-20-2015, 09:29 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 51
Default

hardwire range hood and only have outlet


We took out our over the range micro and want to install a range hood. The microwave was plugged in and all the range hoods we are looking at are hardwire. How do we deal with this problem?

Advertisement

abacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 10:10 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 11,376
Rewards Points: 9,544
Blog Entries: 11
Default


Remove the receptacle from the box and hard wire the hood into it.

Advertisement

joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2015, 11:18 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 624
Rewards Points: 1,254
Blog Entries: 1
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by abacker View Post
We took out our over the range micro and want to install a range hood. The microwave was plugged in and all the range hoods we are looking at are hardwire. How do we deal with this problem?
You are now allowed to plug in a hood. Buy yourself an appliance cord and wire the hood with it. There is usually a knockout on the back and the top of the hood. Use the top knockout with a wire connector or a cord connector. You may have to drill a hole in the cabinet above the knockout for the cord to go through.
__________________
John Grabowski

MrElectrician.TV
MrElectricianTV is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MrElectricianTV For This Useful Post:
rjniles (08-20-2015)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1