Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-11-2010, 11:42 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 21
Share |
Default

hardwire a pre wired, plug in fluorescent fixture...?


I cut the plugs off and want to hardwire three fluorescent fixtures to a junction box...

I want to make sure to use the correct wire gauge. The wires from the fixture are fairly thin and stranded... I'm sure it matters what gauge wire it runs to the power, right? I couldn't find specific information anywhere.

Would I be safe to hook it up to 12g or should i use 14g? it will be going to a switch as well.

thanks!

inlovewithohio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 12:26 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

hardwire a pre wired, plug in fluorescent fixture...?


First, you should not have cut them. Second the cable remaining must go also. Removing the cords would have been the smartest thing to do. You see I save cords for other projects and for testing stuff.

Just connect them with whatever wiring procedure you prefer. Use building wire like NM. (Romex). 14/2 on 15 amp breaker or 12/2 on 20 amp breaker. Use a standard light switch.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 12:29 PM   #3
Member
 
47_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Springville, NY
Posts: 1,448
Default

hardwire a pre wired, plug in fluorescent fixture...?


You could have mounted duplex recepticals in your jb and used the cords.
__________________
What we've got here is... failure to communicate. Some men you just can't reach. So you get what we had here last week, which is the way he wants it... well, he gets it.
47_47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 11:10 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 21
Default

hardwire a pre wired, plug in fluorescent fixture...?


thanks for the replies. had a hold on the construction of the shop, but back on now. decided to hook up new plugs to the lights, using the option of just plugging them in to outlets controlled by a switch - as stated by both replies.

thanks again!
inlovewithohio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing a hardwire ceiling fixture to plug in Kyle Bradford Electrical 2 09-10-2010 05:11 PM
Wiring fluorescent fixture to ceiling box Richo Electrical 12 08-05-2010 06:19 PM
No ballast in 48 inch fluorescent fixture. Timster Electrical 16 06-10-2010 04:02 AM
Is it safe to plug in this flourescent fixture? doofalot Electrical 2 08-16-2008 01:27 PM
converting hanging light fixture to plug dukeswalker Electrical 2 09-18-2006 09:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.