Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-20-2011, 11:53 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Calgary Alberta Canada
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Hardwire inverter


I have an off grid cabin ready to be energized my question is regarding my inverter I have a 3000watt inverter / 480watts of solar panels / 30 amp transfer switch / 4-250 amp hr batteries / 3000 watt back-up generator / 400 watt fuse between the battery bank and inverter / 8 circuit breaker panel box so the inverter states that it supplies 60 volts to 2 single wires to hardwire to panel box but that the nuetral is not to be connected to the common ground so does this then dictate that the 2 single supply lines that each carry 60 volts get wired to the black and white(nuetral) wires in my panel to energize the panel to a standard 120 volts?

Old Country is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 12:04 AM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Hardwire inverter


Before you do anything with this inverter please run the model number by us first due I did noted about connection format I want to double check it due you mention 60 volts per leg so I want to make sure before I can able tell you the correct connection before something will damaged it if not carefull.

And the fuse you say 400 watt fuse or you saying 400 amps which one it is ?

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 12:14 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Calgary Alberta Canada
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Hardwire inverter


Oops my mistake the fuse is 400 amp typed it in wrong the inverter is a GP3000HD that is designed for rv use originally thanks
Old Country is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 12:29 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Calgary Alberta Canada
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Hardwire inverter


Oops didn't send the fuse is 400 amps my mistake the inverter is a GP3000HD primarily used in RV units Thanks
Old Country is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 12:56 AM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Hardwire inverter


Ahh ok IIRC the black will go to the black junction point you should able follow the circuit what it have build in receptales { but watch the circuit arrangement some case you may have two circuits on 120 volt side }

The white will be at netural juction point.

And with this model it is a modifed sine wave so just be aware some electroic stuff WILL not run properly with it.

Let me grab the PDF it should be simauir what it you will have that set up.

http://www.pvpower.com/pdf/datasheet...ower_guide.pdf

scroll down about half way you should see the transfer switch that what it should be connected.

as far for ground just bond it from inverter frame to panel ground.

I will have to dig up little more with the inverter / converter regulations to make sure you are ok on that part.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
Old Country (04-21-2011)
Old 04-21-2011, 01:38 AM   #6
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,559
Rewards Points: 2,014
Default

Hardwire inverter


If the neutral is not at the same potential as ground (you say it's actually at 60V), you can't really use this inverter safely with a hard-wired electrical system. Panels are not designed to have any voltage between neutral and ground. Even when set up with an isolated neutral bar (as in a subpanel), the neutral bar is not expected to be at high potential and is not properly insulated for it.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
Old Country (04-21-2011)
Old 04-21-2011, 03:08 AM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Hardwire inverter


That true but one way or other the OP have to concat that manufacter to verify the inverter connection to make sure they are ok with 120 volt supply as long the OP use the proper transfer switch as the link I posted above.

And to OP if you try to read the voltage with DVM it will not read correct at all due the chopped wavefourm if you have true sine wavefourm the DVM will read it correct.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
Old Country (04-21-2011)
Old 04-21-2011, 10:57 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Calgary Alberta Canada
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Hardwire inverter


Thank-you so much for all your input. Great to have access to so many Professionals. This system will be treated the same as an RV system looks like the transfer switch sorts everything out.

Old Country is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inverter powering a subpanel codename47 Electrical 4 03-22-2011 12:03 PM
Power Inverter for laptop secutanudu Electrical 12 07-10-2010 03:43 AM
need 12 volt DC to 120 volt AC inverter recommendation bobrok Electrical 1 06-14-2010 10:25 AM
Emergency power backup via power inverter upabove Electrical 14 06-09-2010 12:18 AM
Hardwire a polarized plug Mrsfixit Electrical 3 10-23-2007 06:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.