Hard Wire To Plug-in - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-14-2008, 08:43 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Hard wire to Plug-in


Ok, so I don't know much about this whole process, but I have a blower induced draft fan on a kiln that does not work. I got a new one today, same exact fan except that it is supposed to be hardwired. It has two black wires coming out of it (first question why are they not color coded?). I have the original non working fan which has the cord, a three pronged plug and a little switchy thing along the cord to turn the fan on and off.

How do I go about attaching the old plug to the new fan? Also, the fan does not seem to come apart easily, so I would imagine it might involve some splicing.

Any advice to a electrically perplexed person?

Thanks in advance!

Advertisement

spots88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 01:03 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Hard wire to Plug-in


If you cannot gain access to the terminals where the wires are connected in the new fan, you will have to splice them. Your new fan does not require a ground if it only has two wires. Color means nothing in this application. Connect the old fan cord to the new fan leads with two butt splices (any supply house) minus the ground (green wire). Tape or preferably shrink wrap the splices and the two leads.

Does this fan get it's power from the kiln or a separate source? If it gets its power from the kiln, please post again. There may be a better alternative to splicing.

Advertisement

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 08:54 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Hard wire to Plug-in


Thanks for the info. The fan does not get it's power from the kiln, it gets it from a plug outside. My only other question is that the fan specifically says that it needs to be grounded, but no green wire comes out of the fan. Not sure how to go about that, and if I do leave out the grounding what do I do with the extra wire from the old plug?
spots88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 10:10 PM   #4
DIY'r
 
ScottR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hicksville, NY (Yes, it's an actual town).
Posts: 520
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Hard wire to Plug-in


Quote:
My only other question is that the fan specifically says that it needs to be grounded, but no green wire comes out of the fan.
Is there a green screw on the fan housing, or a screw with the ground symbol next to it?


It's possible that if the fan is intended for that particular kiln it gets its ground through the mounting hardware to the kiln...
ScottR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 08:39 AM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,376
Rewards Points: 3,546
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Hard wire to Plug-in


The fan motor probably has a connection box on it somewhere. There is probably a knockout that can be removed to insert a connector to hold the power cable.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 12:17 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Hard wire to Plug-in


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
The fan motor probably has a connection box on it somewhere. There is probably a knockout that can be removed to insert a connector to hold the power cable.
Many small fractional dedicated fans and equipment only have a grommet and no access to the lead connections. This is what I am thinking he has. But of course, if there is access, the cord should be installed without the splice and the two factory leads removed.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 11:14 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Hard wire to Plug-in


I figures out something and it works! No knockout box was found and so I grounded it to a metal screw. It looks a little home made, but I'm not looking for style here, just function. Thanks for all of your help!

Meg

Advertisement

spots88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hard wire , plug , replacement


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 wire with ground to 3 prong dryer plug dgbunk Electrical 9 10-19-2010 02:07 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM
Hard wire 2 smoke detectors together tstorzuk Electrical 4 07-27-2008 06:59 PM
Baseboard Heater: Can I wire it to plug into an AC recepticle? JBiz Electrical 3 12-01-2007 09:42 AM
compressor... to hard wire crecore Electrical 3 11-10-2007 01:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts