Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-21-2012, 02:05 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 66
Share |
Default

hard wire fan vs plug


I bought a new vent hood for my stove. (Broan PM390) My electrian already ran a hard wire (120V) to where the fan will go above the stove. The fan comes with a power cord to plug into a 120V outlet. It will be a pain for me to now install another outlet up in that area to plug this into- Can I just wire this unit direct into the 120V line I already have run? I would insure it's connected properly with connections in box etc.....

Huskyfan68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 11:08 PM   #2
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Default

hard wire fan vs plug


Below is from the Broan installation guide.

It says to use the supplied cord and plug.

The only code issue I can think of is that it might only meet it's UL listing with the supplied cord and plug.

If you want to be certain that hard wiring will not void the UL listing, you should call Broan and ask them.


Note: This range hood must be properly grounded. ALWAYS SWITCH OFF THE ELECTRICITY SUPPLY BEFORE
CARRYING OUT ANY OPERATIONS ON THE APPLIANCE.
The unit should be installed by a qualified electrician in accor-
dance with all applicable national and local electrical codes.
GROUNDING INSTRUCTIONS
This appliance must be grounded. In the event of an electrical short
circuit, grounding reduces the risk of electric shock by providing an
escape wire for the electric current. This appliance is equipped
with a cord having a grounding wire with a grounding plug. The
plug must be plugged into an outlet that is properly installed and
grounded.
WARNING - Improper grounding can result in a risk of electric shock.
Consult a qualified electrician if the grounding instructions are not
completely understood, or if doubt exists as to whether the appliance
is properly grounded.
Do not use an extension cord. If the power supply cord is too short,
have a qualified electrician install an outlet near the appliance.
Position the electrical outlet at a maximum distance of 33-7/16 (85
cm) from where the lead exits from the hood (see illustration along-
side).
Fit the plug into the outlet.

TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 07:25 AM   #3
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

hard wire fan vs plug


If the range hood is/has to be cord connected then that circuit needs to be a dedicated/individual circuit.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
my Firex hard wire smoke alarms have no grounding amakarevic Electrical 11 01-14-2012 08:25 AM
Wire hardwired fixture to plug seansy59 Electrical 11 08-03-2011 09:42 AM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 03:30 PM
Running new dryer wire...but dryer is three plug currently. RyanD Electrical 7 08-07-2009 02:33 PM
Neutral Wire? 4x15mph Electrical 8 11-24-2008 01:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.